1. Subscriberflyingcod
    Berg Katze
    The Edge of Sanity
    Moves
    15 Mar '15 23:291 edit
    Reading SirDubaLot's chess lessons thread, I was looking at maybe getting an ECF rating (such is my addiction to this frustrating game) but you need a membership first. Anyone got one on here? I would like to get an ECF rating play in tournaments but I'd no doubt get hammered by an eight year old but hey, I'd still enjoy it. Can an absolute beginner like me be allowed to play in "proper" tournaments?

fc
  2. Joined
    18 Feb '10
    Moves
    16 Mar '15 10:083 edits
    I've been a member of the ECF in the past. I'm not now because I have issues with the way the organisation is run.

There are four levels of membership:
    http://www.englishchess.org.uk/membership/info/

To play in the sort of tournaments you want to play in you'd need silver membership. The only difference between silver and gold is that the latter enables you to play in FIDE rated tournaments, which are actually quite rare in Britain because the required time rates don't suit the weekend tournament structure very well.

Quite a lot of tournaments are listed on the ECF website:
    http://www.englishchess.org.uk/event-calendar/
    But there are some which aren't.

Depending on where you live, you might find that evening league chess is an option. That's the only over-the-board chess that I play, I've only played in two tournaments (both rapidplay) in the last 25 years!

Edit: I forgot to mention that long play tournaments in Britain almost always have at least three sections, often named minor, major and open. There are generally five or six rounds and run on a Swiss system, meaning that you play in every round and will be paired against someone with the same number of points as yourself (or as close as possible). I've gone through some of your games and I think you'd be perfectly OK playing in a minor section and would probably win at least a couple of games.