Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 18 Mar '08 15:57
    4731978
    I am black.
    It won't let me castle on the king side and for the life of me I don't know why.
  2. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    18 Mar '08 15:59
    Originally posted by remington1
    4731978
    I am black.
    It won't let me castle on the king side and for the life of me I don't know why.
    By the rules, please look them up...

    You can not castle into or through check.

    The white queen blocks your king's ability to castle.

    P-
  3. 18 Mar '08 16:08 / 1 edit
    Wow.

    I've been playing chess for 30 years. I have over 17,000 moves on this site. And I never knew that you couldn't castle if the King "moved through" a check position. Amazing.

    Thanks for answering despite the condescending tone.
  4. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    18 Mar '08 16:14
    Originally posted by remington1
    Wow.

    I've been playing chess for 30 years. I have over 17,000 moves on this site. And I never knew that you couldn't castle if the King "moved through" a check position. Amazing.

    Thanks for answering despite the condescending tone.
    Sorry about the tone... not that any was intended... I'd just hate to see you miss another aspect of this rule.

    Some get confused and next believe the Rook can't castle through check... others don't realize you can't castle out of check... it's worth reading the whole rule.

    P-
  5. 19 Mar '08 03:18 / 1 edit
    I haven't looked at what you wrote. Was it a stalemate and you left your opponent no legal moves?

    Edit: No it wasn't.
  6. Standard member Kepler
    Demon Duck
    19 Mar '08 16:36
    Originally posted by remington1
    Wow.

    I've been playing chess for 30 years. I have over 17,000 moves on this site. And I never knew that you couldn't castle if the King "moved through" a check position. Amazing.

    Thanks for answering despite the condescending tone.
    You are in good company. Korchnoi had to ask a similar question during a match with Karpov.
  7. 19 Mar '08 22:40 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Kepler
    You are in good company. Korchnoi had to ask a similar question during a match with Karpov.
    Yes, Korchnoi asked if his rook could move through check, but I think that lapse can be chalked off to extreme pressure and anxiety, he surely knew the rule. Just had a massive synapse malfunction.
  8. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    21 Mar '08 13:27
    Originally posted by Sam The Sham
    Yes, Korchnoi asked if his rook could move through check, but I think that lapse can be chalked off to extreme pressure and anxiety, he surely knew the rule. Just had a massive synapse malfunction.
    Ha! Read my last post... "can a rook castle through check?"

    P-