Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 05 Feb '09 17:21
    What is the claim draw law in RHP? Is it the 3 consecutive similae moves?
  2. 05 Feb '09 17:58
    never mind, I found the answer.
  3. 18 Feb '09 13:55
    What is the effect of a 'draw' with your opponent? I thought it would be both parties coming out unscathed, but my current opponent whos rating is about 300points better than mine reckons his rating will be dented.
    Thanks for your help.
  4. 18 Feb '09 14:05
    Originally posted by Tom Crean
    What is the effect of a 'draw' with your opponent? I thought it would be both parties coming out unscathed, but my current opponent whos rating is about 300points better than mine reckons his rating will be dented.
    Thanks for your help.
    That is correct. The RHP computer assumes you will beat someone lower rated than you. If you only draw against them, you lose rating points. If you lose to them, you lose even more rating points than the draw. See here: FAQ
  5. 03 Mar '09 19:35
    Originally posted by Adsum
    never mind, I found the answer.
    Where did you locate the claim draw rules? I am wondering if there is a way to force a draw on an opponent for having no pieces captured for x number of consecutive moves. Is that function working and is it 50 moves with no lost pieces?
  6. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    03 Mar '09 19:45
    Originally posted by tomak
    Where did you locate the claim draw rules? I am wondering if there is a way to force a draw on an opponent for having no pieces captured for x number of consecutive moves. Is that function working and is it 50 moves with no lost pieces?
    FAQ
  7. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    09 Mar '09 16:58
    Originally posted by tomak
    Where did you locate the claim draw rules? I am wondering if there is a way to force a draw on an opponent for having no pieces captured for x number of consecutive moves. Is that function working and is it 50 moves with no lost pieces?
    It's fifty full moves by both players, with no lost pieces and no forward pawn movement.
  8. 10 Mar '09 22:32
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    It's fifty full moves by both players, with no lost pieces and no forward pawn movement.
    And of course no backward pawn moves.
  9. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    10 Mar '09 23:59
    Originally posted by MontyMoose
    And of course no backward pawn moves.
  10. 11 Mar '09 17:03
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    From the previous two knowledgeable posts, I think we can assume that sideways Pawn moves don't count
  11. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    16 Mar '09 13:33
    Originally posted by Essex 3
    From the previous two knowledgeable posts, I think we can assume that sideways Pawn moves don't count
    en passant, and it counts.