Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 26 Mar '09 21:03
    I recently started a games and was shocked when I received my opponent's "impossible" move -- a capture of my e pawn. I say "impossible" because I had moved my e pawn to e6 and my opponents knight was on f3. When I checked the log, however, it said I had moved my pawn to e5. How frustrating -- a "finger" mistake completely changing the game. I notified my opponent about my misplay and he is gracious enough to be willing to start the game over (we have only played 4.5 moves). The only problem is that I see no way to do this. Does archiving the game put it is "suspended animation?? What if we agree to a draw -- would that pull our averages down. We both have provisional ratings of about 1550. Can anyone help me??
  2. Standard member John of Reading
    Scotch addict
    26 Mar '09 21:16
    Is this your game against "fishie"? Since he's not a subscriber, he is limited to six games in progress. So he won't be keen on leaving this game unfinished.

    I suggest you agree a draw. I don't think it will make a big change in your ratings, and they will soon adjust themselves to reflect your true strength as you play more games.
  3. Standard member zozozozo
    Thread Killing Chimp
    26 Mar '09 21:40
    you should draw it indeed.
    heres how your rating will be calculated:
    FAQ