Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 06 Jan '06 22:26
    could anyone tell me what RHP rules are regarding the situation of perpetual check?? Thanks Desert Rat
  2. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    07 Jan '06 02:29
    There is no rule about perpetual check. There is the 3 position repetition rule which basically says that if a position occurs 3 times (exactly the same with castling rights, en passant possibilities and side to move the same) then either player may claim a draw. You do so by making the move that makes the 3rd repeat and claiming a draw or claiming a draw alone if the 3rd repeat is currently present.
  3. Standard member Redmike
    Godless Commie
    13 Jan '06 15:28
    Originally posted by XanthosNZ
    There is no rule about perpetual check. There is the 3 position repetition rule which basically says that if a position occurs 3 times (exactly the same with castling rights, en passant possibilities and side to move the same) then either player may claim a draw. You do so by making the move that makes the 3rd repeat and claiming a draw or claiming a draw alone if the 3rd repeat is currently present.
    Sometimes with a perpetual check situation, the 50-move rule arises quicker than the 3-fold repitition.
  4. 13 Jan '06 19:30
    Originally posted by Redmike
    Sometimes with a perpetual check situation, the 50-move rule arises quicker than the 3-fold repitition.
    How many games have you finished with the 50 move rule? I never have on here or OTB.
  5. Standard member celticcountry
    Copyright ©2001-2006
    13 Jan '06 21:17
    Originally posted by Redmike
    Sometimes with a perpetual check situation, the 50-move rule arises quicker than the 3-fold repitition.
    Perpetual check is never mentioned in the complete set of Chess rules.

    Repetition is.
  6. Standard member Redmike
    Godless Commie
    16 Jan '06 09:37 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Will Everitt
    How many games have you finished with the 50 move rule? I never have on here or OTB.
    I don't think I ever have.

    I don't think I've won many by 3-fold repitition either.

    Most of the time, the opponent realises and accepts that it is a draw.

    All I'm saying is that sometimes (rarely, but sometimes), if an opponent refuses to accept a perpetual check, the 50-move rule will kick in before 3-fold repitition.

    No big deal really.
  7. Standard member Redmike
    Godless Commie
    16 Jan '06 09:39
    Originally posted by celticcountry
    Perpetual check is never mentioned in the complete set of Chess rules.

    Repetition is.
    And so is the 50 move rule.
  8. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    16 Jan '06 23:21
    Originally posted by Redmike

    I don't think I've won many by 3-fold repitition either.
    Of course you haven't. You can't win by 3-fold repetition. You draw.
  9. Standard member celticcountry
    Copyright ©2001-2006
    17 Jan '06 14:45
    Originally posted by Redmike


    I don't think I've won many by 3-fold repitition either.

    Its ok my communist friend.

    I haven't either. you are not alone.
  10. Standard member Redmike
    Godless Commie
    17 Jan '06 14:54
    Originally posted by celticcountry
    Its ok my communist friend.

    I haven't either. you are not alone.
    I've not drawn too many either.

    All I'm saying is that it is very rare to actually have to invoke these rules - usually both players know what is going on and agree the draw.

    Now stalemate, that is a different matter - there are lots of good examples of people saving an otherwise lost game thru stalemate combinations.
  11. Standard member Redmike
    Godless Commie
    17 Jan '06 14:57
    Originally posted by NAMTIH
    could anyone tell me what RHP rules are regarding the situation of perpetual check?? Thanks Desert Rat
    Strange, though, that NAMTIH signs themselves Desert Rat. That's already the name of a different (?) user.