Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 21 Feb '06 17:23
    Is Black awarded more points if he/she draws against a higher-rated opponent than if he/she were playing White?
  2. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    21 Feb '06 18:24 / 1 edit
    READ THE FAQ!
  3. 21 Feb '06 20:19
    Originally posted by XanthosNZ
    READ THE FAQ!
    Thanks for the advice! Love your use of exclamation points, by the way....

    In any event, I did read (and have now, again, thanks to your well-meaning advice, re-read) the FAQs and nothing I found speaks directly to the question. Indirectly, it seems, the question is answered in the negative--black or white makes no difference. I guess the question behind the question, then, is why not? I'm new to chess, but some of what I've managed to glean suggests that all other things being equal, it's more difficult to win (or draw) for black. Is this not the case?
  4. 21 Feb '06 21:25
    This has been discussed a few times over here at RHP, and everyone agrees that in GM level play, black has a measurable disadvantage. In beginner play though, many will argue that black has the advantage, since it is more likely for white to make the first critical mistake.

    Black and White do not matter as far as rating points, but if you draw with someone rated higher than you, you will gain a few points. If you draw with someone lower, you lose a few.
  5. 21 Feb '06 22:55
    Makes sense--thanks.
  6. 22 Feb '06 21:36
    A draw counts for half the point change a win or loss would.
    That's it and that's all.
  7. Subscriber Ragnorak
    For RHP addons...
    23 Feb '06 01:27
    Originally posted by Drumbo
    A draw counts for half the point change a win or loss would.
    That's it and that's all.
    No, it doesn't.

    D
  8. 23 Feb '06 07:44
    Originally posted by Drumbo
    A draw counts for half the point change a win or loss would.
    That's it and that's all.
    If I have 1400 in rating and my opponent has 1300
    If I win I get 12 points ande he loses 12.
    If we draw I lose 4 points and he wins 4.

    Losing 4 is not half as winning 12. Not in any arithmetics.

    That's it and nothing else.
  9. Standard member leisurelysloth
    Man of Steel
    25 Feb '06 06:09
    Originally posted by FabianFnas
    If I have 1400 in rating and my opponent has 1300
    If I win I get 12 points ande he loses 12.
    If we draw I lose 4 points and he wins 4.

    Losing 4 is not half as winning 12. Not in any arithmetics....
    Except in base 6.

    not that it matters to the discussion at hand....
  10. 02 Mar '06 00:45
    do you gain points if a person won't move and you claim a timeout win?
  11. 02 Mar '06 03:44
    Originally posted by cnrmad
    do you gain points if a person won't move and you claim a timeout win?
    If the game has not progressed farther than 3 moves, than the game can not be timed out, and it must be deleted...unless...it is a clan or tournament game, in which case you will earn the win, but will recieve no points if it is under 3 moves into the game.

    TT