1. Joined
    01 Jun '06
    Moves
    06 May '08 19:47
    I've read the FAQ and still can't help but think that there is something wrong, so I would appreciate if someone could check that I am understanding and calculating correctly.
    I am not a provisional player, but my rating has just dropped after beating a higher rated player.
    This is not the first time that I have noticed this happen, but is the first time I have tried to figure out why.
    The FAQ I think could be slightly clearer in that it does not make clear whether new rating = ((old rating + K) x (score - win expectancy)), or, (old rating + (K x (score - win expectancy))).
    Sorry about my excessive brackets, but I just want to be perfectly clear.
    Anyway, I can get neither to agree with what seems to have just happened to my rating.
    I've just won a game ID 4900749, resulting in my rating dropping from 1741 to 1720.
    Looking at my opponents profile page, his rating previous to our game ending was 1754.
    Assuming that the second bracket option above is correct (I hope!), then I calculate that my win expectancy was 0.092789749 and that my rating should have increased to 1770.
    Advice of where I am going wrong would be appreciated.
  2. Standard memberJohn of Reading
    Scotch addict
    Moves
    06 May '08 19:55
    The last two entries on your rating graph are telling me:

(1) That you lost game 4718404 to an opponent rated 1622, and your rating dropped from 1741 to 1720. This is the final downward step on the graph.

(2) That you won game 4900749 against an opponent rated 1756, and your rating rose from 1720 to your current rating, 1738. This doesn't show as an upward step on the graph; your new current rating is only shown in the text area at the top of the profile page.

Does that make sense?
  3. Standard memberPhlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    tinyurl.com/3sbbwd4
    Moves
    06 May '08 19:59
    Originally posted by John of Reading