Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    14 Jan '14 02:43 / 2 edits
    Game 10107211 I am quite upset with this game. In move 43 I moved Kf7f8 and claimed a draw by third repetition of position. I made the move after claiming a draw and it did not give me a draw. In moves 38 Qc4e2 and 41 Qd7f5 the game pieces are in the same position as now. Can I please get the draw that I claimed that are the current rules of chess.
    Thank you,
    David
  2. 14 Jan '14 03:32
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    Game 10107211 I am quite upset with this game. In move 43 I moved Kf7f8 and claimed a draw by third repetition of position. I made the move after claiming a draw and it did not give me a draw. In moves 38 Qc4e2 and 41 Qd7f5 the game pieces are in the same position as now. Can I please get the draw that I claimed that are the current rules of chess.
    Thank you,
    David
    No, you didnt have 3-fold repetition. You only had 2 fold repetition. Only after 41... Qf5 and 43... Kf8 is the same. 38. Qe2 is not the same.
  3. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    14 Jan '14 03:43 / 3 edits
    Originally posted by Sebastian Yap
    No, you didnt have 3-fold repetition. You only had 2 fold repetition. Only after 41... Qf5 and 43... Kf8 is the same. 38. Qe2 is not the same.
    Yes, I did, 38 Qc4e2, a move that my opponent made, makes the third repetition of position that match with moves 41 and 43. Go over it again and you will see.
  4. 14 Jan '14 04:35
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    Yes, I did, 38 Qc4e2, a move that my opponent made, makes the third repetition of position that match with moves 41 and 43. Go over it again and you will see.
    No, it is not. You don't know the rule properly.
  5. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    14 Jan '14 05:06 / 5 edits
    Originally posted by Sebastian Yap
    No, it is not. You don't know the rule properly.
    "Third repetition of a position. If any identical position appears three times during a game, then the game can be claimed as a draw. Please note that each repetition must be identical with regards to en passant and castling availability. A draw can only be claimed along with a move that contributes to a repetition. Claiming after the repetition has occurred is not possible, unless the same position can be repeated again on a future move" (FAQ).

    Well please explain what I am missing then? All the pieces on the board had the same position at three different times during the game. I claimed a draw on the third repetition of that position of all the pieces on the board. I have been a member of this chess site for almost 10 years now and have claimed many draws for third repetition of position. I have never had this problem before. Please explain it to me then?? Thanks for your time.
  6. 14 Jan '14 06:06
    I will tell you after your game has ended.
  7. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    14 Jan '14 07:27 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Sebastian Yap
    I will tell you after your game has ended.
    You telling me why the third repetition of position in this game supposedly is not valid, has no forbearance on the outcome of this game. You're not offering or giving me advice that would change the outcome of this game. I have sent feedback. Thanks for your help in the help forum, but I think you are completely wrong. I have gone over it, over and over again, and I'm sober. It is the third repetition of position in this game.
  8. 14 Jan '14 07:29
    No, it is not.
  9. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    14 Jan '14 07:30 / 5 edits
    Originally posted by Sebastian Yap
    No, it is not.
    Prove it. Show me the rules that would show me otherwise. Nothing wrong with showing me chess rules during an in progress game. Just Like, showing me the rules that tell me I can't move a bishop like a knight.
  10. 14 Jan '14 07:38
    You only had 2 fold repetition. Only after 41... Qf5 and 43... Kf8 is the same. 38. Qe2 is not the same.

    Read my post carefully again. See what is the difference between 38 and the other 2.
  11. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    14 Jan '14 07:49
    Originally posted by Sebastian Yap
    You only had 2 fold repetition. Only after 41... Qf5 and 43... Kf8 is the same. 38. Qe2 is not the same.

    Read my post carefully again. See what is the difference between 38 and the other 2.
    The only difference is, my opponent made the move in 38 that lead to the position and I made the other two. during our move in 38 that position was reached once. During our moves in 41 the position was reached twice. During our moves in 43 I moved into the same position for the third time.
  12. 14 Jan '14 07:50
    That reason alone is enough for it not to be a 3-fold repetition.
  13. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    14 Jan '14 07:53
    Originally posted by Sebastian Yap
    That reason alone is enough for it not to be a 3-fold repetition.
    Third repetition of a position. If any identical position appears three times during a game, then the game can be claimed as a draw.
  14. 14 Jan '14 07:56
    The rules are not written very well on this site.
  15. Subscriber caissad4
    Child of the Novelty
    14 Jan '14 07:56
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    Third repetition of a position. If any identical position appears three times during a game, then the game can be claimed as a draw.
    It must also be the SAME player to move.