Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 29 Oct '11 22:25
    my opponent beat me but only got a draw, why?
  2. Standard member RevRSleeker
    CerebrallyChallenged
    29 Oct '11 22:51 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by hozomeenchert
    my opponent beat me but only got a draw, why?
    EDIT game: Game 8722103

    You utilised a resource that enabled you to 'claim' a draw..the game finished with no legal moves available to yourself ..you were not in check, had no legal move available so therefore a 'stalemate'
  3. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    31 Oct '11 14:21 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by hozomeenchert
    my opponent beat me but only got a draw, why?
    You do realize that's a very good thing for you. You were well beaten... but black made a mistake by not letting you have space to move. If you can't legally move any pieces in a game of chess, the game is stalemate (a draw)

    I consider a lost game to be 'won' in a way if you can force a stalemate against a player who was clearly winning. Good Job! Remember this rule, its important. Don't get caught on the other side of a stalemate when you are winning, always give room for your opponent to move legally.



    Here is an even quicker win for Black:



    After the Queen moves to either f6 or f8 White can not defend against an eventual Queen mate.