1. Account suspended
    Moves
    22 Apr '16 07:581 edit
    When the interview was over, he offered me eternal life — and a contact I could call day or night

In 2004, Prince had the highest-grossing tour in the world — surpassing even Madonna — simply because he chose to. With a strong new album in Musicology and decades of hits to back him up, he put on an amazing series of in-the-round, tour de force shows that left fans stunned.

Also: He tried to convert me.

At the time I was a music writer for the Rocky Mountain News in Colorado. Prince was coming to play two sold-out shows in Denver and I wanted to write a piece on this new phase of his career. He had done several interviews after a long silence but quickly got frustrated. His publicist told me Prince was sick of seeing the words “diminutive” and “Purple Rain” lead off nearly every piece published, so he quit doing interviews. I countered with a long proposal, explaining that I’d written extensively about his moves after his public “slave” dust-up with Warner Brothers. I understood his artistic and business motivations and wanted to have a serious talk. Several days later, Prince reviewed it and sent a one-word reply: “Approved.”

When we met in Milwaukee, everything went sour. The traffic from Chicago made the entire tour late. This was the one show of the tour not in-the-round, so a new setup and extensive soundcheck were needed. I sat alone in the empty amphitheater as Prince put his band through their paces for more than an hour while he personally tweaked the sound from every corner of the place. He scowled as his crew labored to get it just right, while I pinched myself at this private concert.

Everyone asks: “What was he like?”