1. Maryland
    Moves
    22 Oct '16 13:36
    Clearly anyone who believes in intelligent design has never suffered from prostate problems!
  2. R
    Standard memberRemoved
    Moves
    22 Oct '16 13:473 edits
    Originally posted by 667joe
    Clearly anyone who believes in intelligent design has never suffered from prostate problems!
    Why do you say that? Intelligent design does not insist the design is something you have to like.

Is this a philosophical complaint like "Why would there be an intelligent design of prostate cancer?" ?

A design that you could supposedly improve upon, can still be an intelligent one.
    Wrong?
  3. Maryland
    Moves
    22 Oct '16 14:01
    So you are saying that god's work is not the best and can be improved upon?
  4. R
    Standard memberRemoved
    Moves
    22 Oct '16 14:032 edits
    When I was a computer programming student (back when dinosaurs walked the earth), I remember being fascinated by what the IBM operating system MVS could do.

If the operating system detected that something was not going right with some program, it could issue something called a higher priority interrupt. The higher priority interrupt was some kind of suspension of the normal process in order to run some kind of emergency maintenance of something as the next group of instructions beside the ongoing program.

I thought of it as like an ambulance which making emergency noise halted traffic, called for the normal flow of traffic to go off to the side and allow a special vehicle to pass through.

In the bigger picture of human existence, could there be an intelligent interruption of the normal flow in order to make a higher priority alarm, for SOME intelligent reason ?

The terrible prostate cancer could be such an interruption of the normal flow. It could be because a conceivable greater danger needs to be arrested, or maintenanced, or at least brought to the attention of the person with the prostate cancer.