Debates Forum

Debates Forum

1. Behind the scenes
    Moves
    10 Jun '18 16:463 edits
    America is a wonderful country in many ways, as a business owner, I'm thankful to live in a place where free market enterprises are encouraged. American's however, are hurting themselves in many ways in thinking if you don't finish # 1, you've failed. This stands in stark contrast to thinking in other parts of the world.

In a former NY Times bestseller a young Harvard grad from New York was watching his girlfriend from the Netherlands in a tennis match,. After losing to her American competitor, her boyfriend took her to lunch and said "you could be the best in the world if you really worked at tennis" his lady answered, "If I really worked at it, tennis would become a job. I'm practicing tennis enough to be a good tennis player, and studying medicine hard enough to be a good doctor, that's what I want" The young man from Harvard began to realize (contrary to what he was taught in America) being number 1 isn't everything, and his girlfriend's balanced approach to life made a great deal of sense.

It's interesting that Harvard Business Review recently published an article on this very subject.

https://hbr.org/2012/08/our-unhealthy-obsession-with-winning.html
  2. Standard membervivify
    rain
    Moves
    10 Jun '18 16:592 edits
    Obsession with winning certainly is limited to America. Andres Escobar was soccer goalie killed for accidentally scoring in his own goal.

The riots and fanaticism of soccer players are well known, so I go on to long about this. But here's a link about soccer players who've faced severe consequences for losing:

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2003/apr/19/iraq.football