12 Jul '08
    Moves
    04 May '16 19:46
    there is growing evidence that self-regulation or self-control
    abilities may have as much effect on academic and
    other life outcomes as IQ.

Way down the page on the link under Important Unresolved Issues

https://www.apa.org/pubs/journals/releases/amp-67-2-130.pdf

As a teacher I've noticed this for many years now. Kids who can behave themselves in class out perform those who can't behave. Seems to me that if this is the case, then learning to behave should be the most important thing taught in schools.

Of course in the US we don't try to teach behavior, We just try to teach teachers how to manage bad behavior so that we can produce marginally educated deviants.
  2. Zugzwang
    Moves
    04 May '16 20:48
    Originally posted by Eladar
    [b]there is growing evidence that self-regulation or self-control

As a teacher I've noticed this for many years now. Kids who can behave thems ...[text shortened]... o teach teachers how to manage bad behavior so that we can produce marginally educated deviants.[/b]
    So does Eladar believe that female students academically outperform male students because
    female students behave better?
  3. Joined
    12 Jul '08
    Moves
    04 May '16 22:062 edits
    Originally posted by Duchess64
    So does Eladar believe that female students academically outperform male students because
    female students behave better?
    So does Douchebag always type in such a condescending manner?

As to the question, ignoring the troll style in which it was written, there is little doubt that girls' behavior adds to their superior academic performance compared to their male counterparts. This would also add to girls doing better in school.

Girls' strengths in reading and writing are generally more useful when it comes to education compared to a guys' strengths in spacial ability and mathematics.
  4. Subscriberno1marauder
    Humble and Kind
    In the Gazette
    Moves