Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Developers Forum

Developers Forum

1. 22 Nov '05 07:40
    Howdy,

I'm only a lowly nonsubscriber, but I think you would add value to the game by adding a third option to your NEW GAME section under color: RANDOM.

This way its all up to the gods, or CPU cycles, or ticks since jan 1901, or whatever php uses.

Ever thought of a .NET port?

Steve
  2. 12 Dec '05 11:52
    good idea mate
  3. 12 Dec '05 15:19
    Originally posted by DarkwingDuck
    Howdy,

I'm only a lowly nonsubscriber, but I think you would add value to the game by adding a third option to your NEW GAME section under color: RANDOM.

This way its all up to the gods, or CPU cycles, or ticks since jan 1901, or whatever php uses.

Steve

My God!!! Don't ever say that word again!!! Geez... NET... what a gastly construction that is... No, please, stick with PHP in all its beauty...
  4. 14 Dec '05 20:45
    Hey I'm a .NET developer by trade... don't dis it!
  5. 18 Dec '05 22:49
    Hey I'm a .NET developer by trade... don't dis it!
    Ok. I'll respect that. But why use it for new applications? Yea, sure, it's only been around for a few years so it's alive and kicking. But, really, do you think MS technology will stand the test of time?
  6. 21 Dec '05 12:45
    I think MS has stood the test of time better than anything else out there besides Free BSD! How many programming languages have come and gone, and we still have trusty old VB? Who owns over 50% of the market share when it comes to operating systems? Truth is you can't much avoid the fact that MS will be involved in your computer life for some time to come.

I have a well rounded view because I also use to develop in C and Java on solaris platform. .NET just makes development much easier.

Anyways, a good developer will leverage the positive aspects of all systems and environments. I'm just not a good developer!
  7. 23 Dec '05 23:08
    Howdy,

Steve