Go back
Phil's BBQ 2011 (Rules of Castle)

Phil's BBQ 2011 (Rules of Castle)

General

Vote Up
Vote Down

Duecer and I were playing chess. My rook was under attack so I went to castle.

Him, busy girl and Short circuit swore up and down I can not castle with a rook under attack or if my rook passes through a check.

I swear up and down I can, and after some google searches I still find no place where it says I can NOT castle when my rook passes through a check or into a check.

Well?

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Phlabibit
Duecer and I were playing chess. My rook was under attack so I went to castle.

Him, busy girl and Short circuit swore up and down I can not castle with a rook under attack or if my rook passes through a check.

I swear up and down I can, and after some google searches I still find no place where it says I can NOT castle when my rook passes through a check or into a check.

Well?
ONLY CHESS FORUM ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------> \-/
Trash Can



.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Grampy Bobby
[b]ONLY CHESS FORUM ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------> \-/[hidden]Trash Can[/hidden]


.[/b]
Just answer

the question

2 edits

Originally posted by Phlabibit
Duecer and I were playing chess. My rook was under attack so I went to castle.

Him, busy girl and Short circuit swore up and down I can not castle with a rook under attack or if my rook passes through a check.

I swear up and down I can, and after some google searches I still find no place where it says I can NOT castle when my rook passes through a check or into a check.

Well?
You're right P. You cannot castle if your King is in check, or you'd be moving your King through check in order to do so. The rule does not apply to Rooks.

Hope this helps.
Knightmail
🙂

Edited to please the grammar nazis...😞

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Knightmail
You're right P. You cannot castle if your King is in check, or you'd be moving your King through check in order to do so. The rule does not apply to Rooks.

Hope this helps.
Knightmail
🙂

Edited to please the grammar nazis...😞
I hope they were liars, I don't much care for ignorant people.

P-


You are correct.

When you castle, the rook can be under attack at the time. It can move over squares that are under attack. It can end on a square that is currently under attack.

All of the above prohibitions apply only to the king.

The only rule for the rook is that it cannot have been moved prior to the castling move.

I'm sure the folks over in the "chess only" forum will confirm all of this. 🙂

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Phlabibit
Just answer

the question
Of chorus right.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by mwmiller
You are correct.

When you castle, the rook can be under attack at the time. It can move over squares that are under attack. It can end on a square that is currently under attack.

All of the above prohibitions apply only to the king.

The only rule for the rook is that it cannot have been moved prior to the castling move.

I'm sure the folks over in the "chess only" forum will confirm all of this. 🙂
How would you feel if you were playing OTB and 3 people in the room said YOU ARE RONG?

Answer: Not so good.

1 edit

Originally posted by Phlabibit
How would you feel if you were playing OTB and 3 people in the room said YOU ARE RONG?

Answer: Not so good.
How would I feel??

I would feel smarter than at least three people in the room! 😀

You could pull out your old dog-eared copy of FIDE rules of chess and point them to 3.8.b (1), (2) for further support.


Originally posted by Phlabibit
How would you feel if you were playing OTB and 3 people in the room said YOU ARE RONG?

Answer: Not so good.
...And if The Three Muskateers had said you can't open with d5? Would you have still listened and still googled?.... I doubt it!!

-m.


Originally posted by Phlabibit
I hope they were liars, I don't much care for ignorant people.

P-
They were LAIAHS!

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Sunburnt
They were LAIAHS!
Is the drawing in your avatar a drawing of the picture that use to be there?


Originally posted by mwmiller
You are correct.

When you castle, the rook can be under attack at the time. It can move over squares that are under attack. It can end on a square that is currently under attack.

All of the above prohibitions apply only to the king.

The only rule for the rook is that it cannot have been moved prior to the castling move.

I'm sure the folks over in the "chess only" forum will confirm all of this. 🙂
Almost, if the rook ends up on a square attacked by an opponent's piece, then the K had to pass through an attacked square. 😕


Originally posted by mikelom
...And if The Three Muskateers had said you can't open with d5? Would you have still listened and still googled?.... I doubt it!!

-m.
I wouldn't ague with people with swords. Not unlike Phalb's scenario of arguing with three flesh eating giants unless you're packing you should stay quiet and come on internet forums to show off how right you were.

Vote Up
Vote Down

Originally posted by Phlabibit
Duecer and I were playing chess. My rook was under attack so I went to castle.

Him, busy girl and Short circuit swore up and down I can not castle with a rook under attack or if my rook passes through a check.

I swear up and down I can, and after some google searches I still find no place where it says I can NOT castle when my rook passes through a check or into a check.

Well?
I'm sorry to say, my good friend shorty, busygirl, a great lady, and deucer a super guy, were all wrong. The situation of the rook is NOT a consideration. The only stipulation regarding the rook is that it hasn't already moved.

OR...

Castling would have lost the game by a horrible blunder, and your good friends were trying to keep you out of trouble.
(More likely)

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.