1. Harkaway
    Joined
    22 Mar '17
    Moves
    1162
    02 Feb '19 21:29
    Can a player move his/her King so as to be diagonally beside a pawn, bishop (etc.) (thus being in the line of fire of the pawn, bishop (etc.) and thus being in check) if the pawn, bishop (etc.) cannot move because to do so would place his/her own King into check?
  2. SubscriberSuzianne
    Misfit Queen
    Isle of Misfit Toys
    Joined
    08 Aug '03
    Moves
    36006
    03 Feb '19 13:29
    @harkaway-hawk said
    Can a player move his/her King so as to be diagonally beside a pawn, bishop (etc.) (thus being in the line of fire of the pawn, bishop (etc.) and thus being in check) if the pawn, bishop (etc.) cannot move because to do so would place his/her own King into check?
    No. A player, according to the rules of the game, cannot move his king into check. It is specifically against the rules. It does not matter if the opponent cannot physically take the king, because kings are never captured. If a king cannot move out of check, it is checkmate.

    This is why the K vs. K endgame is a draw, because check can never be given by a king, because to do so, the king must be moved into check itself, which is specifically against the rules.