Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 16 Feb '18 21:02
    Hey All Others,
    In my game Game 12260588, why didn't the system call a draw since my game has reached 3 occurrances of position? It should not need my opponent's permission.
  2. Subscriber Kewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    16 Feb '18 22:39
    It's not an automatic draw, because the game is still playable. It's up to the claimant to click the "claim draw" button when submitting the move. The only automatic draws are the ones where there is no possible move for a player whose turn it is to move.
  3. 17 Feb '18 14:47
    Originally posted by @kewpie
    It's not an automatic draw, because the game is still playable. It's up to the claimant to click the "claim draw" button when submitting the move. The only automatic draws are the ones where there is no possible move for a player whose turn it is to move.
    Strictly speaking it should also be an automatic draw when there is no way either player can mate no matter how stupidly his opponent plays, but I believe that isn't currently implemented. It's in the FIDE laws, though.
    (The list of those situations is small, by the way. It only happens when both players have bare kings, or both players have kings plus one bishop each and the bishops are on the same colour squares, or one player has a bare king and the other only a king and either a bishop or a knight. In all other situations, including when both players have a knight or when they have opposite-colour bishops, it's possible to help-mate.)

    In fact, third repetition is needs to be claimed over the board as well. So does a fifty-move draw. The fifth-repetition and 75-move draws, both new since 2014, are I think automatic, but the arbiter would have to spot them happening to apply them against the will of the players, which I'm not sure has ever happened. In any case, at my own club I doubt there has ever been an occasion where those new rules could apply. They're there, AFAICT, only to prevent silliness.
  4. 19 Feb '18 15:06
    I claimed a draw offer by clicking the draw offer button, but the system did not perform the forced draw.
  5. 20 Feb '18 08:47
    Originally posted by @kingonpoint
    I claimed a draw offer by clicking the draw offer button, but the system did not perform the forced draw.
    Did you submit a move with the draw claim? That is necessary.
  6. 20 Feb '18 16:15
    Shallow Blue,
    Yes, I submitted a move along with the draw offer.
  7. Subscriber Ponderable
    chemist
    20 Feb '18 17:25
    Originally posted by @kingonpoint
    Shallow Blue,
    Yes, I submitted a move along with the draw offer.
    The Point is not to send a draw offer, but to click on "Claim draw". The offer can be accepted or declined by your Opponent...a Claim is executed if valid.