1. Standard membernevare
    TRUMP
    Canada
    Moves
    19 Jun '18 20:251 edit
    I've always just wanted to be a strong 1800 tournament player. I started playing as an adult so i knew I wouldnt be a master but 1800 has always appealed to me because that is a strong player who will crush all casual players. So my question is...do chess lessons work for adult players who are roughly 1500 online which I'm guessing is 1400 otb. Can I get anything out if it or is my brain locked?
  2. Standard membermchill
    Cryptic
    Behind the scenes
    Moves
    19 Jun '18 21:521 edit
    Originally posted by @nevare
    I've always just wanted to be a strong 1800 tournament player. I started playing as an adult so i knew I wouldnt be a master but 1800 has always appealed to me because that is a strong player who will crush all casual players. So my question is...do chess lessons work for adult players who are roughly 1500 online which I'm guessing is 1400 otb. Can I get anything out if it or is my brain locked?
    You can become an 1800+ player if you get a good coach, and ask the right questions: I did this very same thing and was very close to 1800 (USCF) before I quit chess to pursue other things. Ask your coach to outline for you a study and prep + competition plan of action. Always have your coach analyze your completed tournament games, play over them and pay close attention to your coach's analysis, this will help you avoid repeating mistakes of the past. A coach can only help you so far, but if you're serious about getting to 1800, having a coach is a smart idea. 🙂

P.S. No, I don't think your brain is locked. 😀
  3. Standard membernevare
    TRUMP
    Canada
    Moves
    19 Jun '18 22:02
    Thanks for the advice. 50 dollars an hour omg!
  4. Joined
    12 Jul '08
    Moves
    20 Jun '18 02:00
    I get schooled nearly every time I play.
  5. Standard memberMarinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    tbc
    Moves
    20 Jun '18 11:34