1. SubscriberBigDoggProblem
    The Advanced Mind
    bigdogghouse.com/RHP
    Joined
    26 Nov '04
    Moves
    110624
    03 Jan '17 20:22
    Quoted from the FAQ:

    Third repetition of a position. If any identical position appears three times during a game, then the game can be claimed as a draw. Please note that each repetition must be identical with regards to en passant and castling availability. A draw can only be claimed along with a move that contributes to a repetition. Claiming after the repetition has occurred is not possible, unless the same position can be repeated again on a future move.


    Missing from this definition is that the same side must have the move in all 3 of the occurrences. This is per FIDE rules.

    Hopefully the draw claim is implemented correctly on RHP despite the omission in the FAQ.
  2. Subscribershortcircuit
    The Energizer
    where you want to be
    Joined
    28 Jan '07
    Moves
    66204
    05 Jan '17 16:20
    Out of curiosity, how would your contention NOT be included in the line from the FAQ

    If any identical position appears three times during a game

    If the position was identical and repetitive, wouldn't it automatically allow the same side the move?
  3. SubscriberBigDoggProblem
    The Advanced Mind
    bigdogghouse.com/RHP
    Joined
    26 Nov '04
    Moves
    110624
    05 Jan '17 17:03
    Originally posted by shortcircuit
    Out of curiosity, how would your contention NOT be included in the line from the FAQ

    [b]If any identical position appears three times during a game


    If the position was identical and repetitive, wouldn't it automatically allow the same side the move?[/b]
    If one side or the other loses a tempo, it is possible for the same position to repeat with a different player to move. Here's an example of how it can happen.

  4. SubscriberPonderable
    chemist
    Linkenheim
    Joined
    22 Apr '05
    Moves
    514132
    23 Feb '17 12:05
    Originally posted by BigDoggProblem
    Quoted from the FAQ:

    [quote]Third repetition of a position....
    Hopefully the draw claim is implemented correctly on RHP despite the omission in the FAQ.
    We could esasily test that by playing out the sequence you gave in the last post before this. 8As unrated game 😉
Back to Top