1. Joined
    06 May '13
    Moves
    19 Sep '13 21:201 edit
    Hello.

Since I started playing chess (3 years ago), I played 1. e4 as white, and as black I played the sicilian against 1. e4 and the Benko Gambit against 1. d4.
    Three months ago, I changed my opening repertoire radically : I now play 1. d4 as white, and as black I play the Caro-Kann against 1. e4. But I still play the Benko Gambit against 1. d4.

I am now thinking about playing something else against 1. d4 (the Benko Gambit is awesome in blitz, but in correspondence I usually just end up one pawn down with not much compensation).
    I want something extremely quiet, slow, closed, positional. It's not because I suck at tactics (it's not the case, I played the sicilian for 3 years, and did more than 5000 tactical puzzles), it's just because I love slow manoeuvring, I want to be able to be perfectly relaxed while playing, and not get into insane positions and stress out knowing that one single inaccuracy can be fatal.

For now I'm hesitating between these 4 openings :
    - The Slav
    - The Semi-Slav
    - A Benoni with ... d6, ... g6, ... Bg7
    - The Czech Benoni

The good thing about the Slav and the Semi-Slav is that they seem to share many similarities with the Caro-Kann. Is that true? And if yes, which of these two openings is the most similar to the Caro-Kann?
    Also, I heard that as black playing 1... d5 against 1. d4 is a good idea if you play 1. d4 as white yourself (the same thing goes for 1... e5 against 1. e4, if you play 1. e4 as white yourself). Not sure if this is true but it seems logicial.

While the good thing about a Benoni with ... d6 and ... g6 is that it is similar to the Benko Gambit (and I love that kind of pawn structure), except that black is not down a pawn.

And concerning the Czech Benoni, I don't know much about it but I heard that it's very very closed, solid, slow and quiet.