Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 14 Aug '07 03:06 / 1 edit
    someone told me that if my game goes over 50 moves i can claim a draw, i read the facs and i dont believe it is true... am i wrong? unless there are only kings left?
  2. Subscriber coquette
    Already mated
    14 Aug '07 03:53
    Originally posted by joe420
    someone told me that if my game goes over 50 moves i can claim a draw, i read the facs and i dont believe it is true... am i wrong? unless there are only kings left?
    it is true. read the information on every game page. it actually counts the moves for you. remember, though, that there are special circumstances: it's 50 moves (100 half-moves, or 50 moves with white and 50 moves for black) without advancing a pawn or capturing a piece. this might have been the source of your doubt or confusion.
  3. 14 Aug '07 04:15
    yeah, i read the faq... so does this mean 50 moves with no action? or when my game is past 50 moves?
  4. Subscriber coquette
    Already mated
    14 Aug '07 04:24
    Originally posted by joe420
    yeah, i read the faq... so does this mean 50 moves with no action? or when my game is past 50 moves?
    it means 50 moves with no pawn advance or any captures, all the other pieces, including the kings, can move their hearts out .. .after 49 of your own moves you can claim a draw when you make the next move (#50)
  5. 14 Aug '07 04:38
    gatcha, thanks
  6. 08 Sep '07 19:16
    where is the button or notification to claim a draw?
  7. 08 Sep '07 19:17
    how do you go about claiming a draw does a icon pop up to notify you that there is a drawn game or something?
  8. 08 Sep '07 19:41 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by DBCHESS
    how do you go about claiming a draw does a icon pop up to notify you that there is a drawn game or something?
    No, you have to figure that out yourself (like in OTB chess). Then you use the "Claim draw" button (between "Offer draw" and "Resign" ).