Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 25 Sep '07 13:15
    Why can't I submit my move after executing a castle?
    QueenSide castle:
    I moved the king two squares;
    the rook moved on its own accord.
    but when i submit: the pieces revert to original positions.
    any help?
  2. 25 Sep '07 13:17
    Originally posted by mesabi spikes
    Why can't I submit my move after executing a castle?
    QueenSide castle:
    I moved the king two squares;
    the rook moved on its own accord.
    but when i submit: the pieces revert to original positions.
    any help?
    I haven't seen the game, but most likely it doesn't work because it would be illegal to castle, for example because the king is in check or would have to move through check.
  3. Subscriber Crowley
    Not Aleister
    25 Sep '07 13:20 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by mesabi spikes
    Why can't I submit my move after executing a castle?
    QueenSide castle:
    I moved the king two squares;
    the rook moved on its own accord.
    but when i submit: the pieces revert to original positions.
    any help?
    Uhm, go read the FAQ: http://www.redhotpawn.com/help/index.php?help=castling, to make sure all prerequisites are adhered to.


    Also, this thread will be moving to the Help forum...
  4. Standard member Phlabibit
    Mystic Meg
    25 Sep '07 13:31
    Originally posted by Crowley
    Uhm, go read the FAQ: http://www.redhotpawn.com/help/index.php?help=castling, to make sure all prerequisites are adhered to.


    Also, this thread will be moving to the Help forum...
    I'm coming for the ride to help forum!
  5. Standard member skeeter
    515 + 30 days
    26 Sep '07 04:39
    Originally posted by mesabi spikes
    Why can't I submit my move after executing a castle?
    QueenSide castle:
    I moved the king two squares;
    the rook moved on its own accord.
    but when i submit: the pieces revert to original positions.
    any help?
    Game 3998146

    In order to castle long the black King would need to pass through d8 which is attacked directly by the white Queen and therefore illegal.

    skeeter