Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 25 Dec '09 13:35
    if i do the same move 3 times in a row will i be eligible for a draw?

    irresepective of what the other player does?

    thank you and happy christmas!
  2. Standard member orion25
    Art is hard
    25 Dec '09 13:51
    Originally posted by ShanghaiShmuel
    if i do the same move 3 times in a row will i be eligible for a draw?

    irresepective of what the other player does?

    thank you and happy christmas!
    no, the same position must be repeated 3 times, they don't have to be in a row, but the position must be exactly the same (wich includes castling and e.p. rights)
  3. 25 Dec '09 13:58
    what about if my position is the same but the other players is different?

    i'm so sorry to trouble you
  4. 25 Dec '09 14:53
    Originally posted by ShanghaiShmuel
    what about if my position is the same but the other players is different?

    i'm so sorry to trouble you
    Both your and your opponents position must be the exactly same three times in order to be a draw. Even castling and e.p. rights must be the same.
  5. 25 Dec '09 16:59
    The position on the board must be the same with the same player on the move for that player to claim the draw. These three identical positions do NOT have to be 1-2-3 in a row, but can be seperated by other moves as long as you come back to the core position for the third time. A few notes:

    1 As mentioned, the status of both Kings for castling must be the same and all en passent opportunities must be the same.

    2 Any pawn move resets the counter, since they can't move backwards.

    3 The draw must be claimed, see the "claim draw" button here at RHP interface.

    4 The player claiming the draw must make a move that brings up the same board position for at least the third time. It can also be the fourth, fifth, sixth time, etc if you didn't see it or want it on the third time.

    It doesn't come up that often, but I have saved 4-5 games from lose with this method.
  6. 25 Dec '09 17:28
    Originally posted by ShanghaiShmuel
    if i do the same move 3 times in a row will i be eligible for a draw?

    irresepective of what the other player does?

    thank you and happy christmas!
    Its impossible to do the same move three times in a row
  7. Subscriber coquette
    Already mated
    25 Dec '09 19:18
    There is one very interesting point about the three same positions rule for a draw.

    The positions don't need to be "exactly" the same!

    That is, the King's Knight and Queen's Knight and, or, the King's Rook and the Queen's Rook, can be switched, so the positions only need to "look like" they are exactly the same!
  8. Subscriber Kewpie
    chess dummy
    25 Dec '09 21:32
    Effectively, you need 3 exactly identical "snapshots" of the board.
  9. 26 Dec '09 04:32
    Originally posted by adramforall
    Its impossible to do the same move three times in a row
  10. 26 Dec '09 11:16 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by heinzkat
    [pgn][FEN "1rr4r/k7/8/8/8/7R/7R/K6R w - -"]
    1. Rxh8 Rxh8 2. Rxh8 Rxh8 3. Rxh8[/pgn]
    I don't see three identical moves.

    1. Rh3xh8 Rc8xh8 2. Rh2xh8 Rb8xh8 3. Rh1xh8
  11. 26 Dec '09 11:17
    I don't see a reason to claim a draw either