Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 25 Apr '08 20:30
    White just moved his pawn 2 spaces, and I can't take him en passant. I don't appear to be in check. What's the problem?

    Game 4854228
  2. Subscriber Ragnorak
    For RHP addons...
    25 Apr '08 20:37
    Originally posted by taurik
    White just moved his pawn 2 spaces, and I can't take him en passant. I don't appear to be in check. What's the problem?

    Game 4854228
    The problem, I'm afraid, is that you don't know the en passent rule.

    Check out the FAQ for a detailed explanation.

    D
  3. 25 Apr '08 20:39
    Originally posted by taurik
    White just moved his pawn 2 spaces, and I can't take him en passant. I don't appear to be in check. What's the problem?

    Game 4854228
    No, you are on at d3, then it doesn't work.
    If you had a pawn on d4 and he did c2-c4, then ep would have worked.
    See further at the FAQ
  4. 25 Apr '08 20:44
    oh duh, that's right....it's been way too long since i played a live game of chess