Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. Standard member Red Night
    RHP Prophet
    08 Sep '06 23:12
    Is it three full moves, or does the trash can go away after white's third?
  2. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    09 Sep '06 00:38
    Originally posted by Red Night
    Is it three full moves, or does the trash can go away after white's third?
    3 full. After blacks third.
  3. 09 Sep '06 01:19
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    3 full. After blacks third.
    That isn't the way I interpret this from FAQ.
    How do I delete a game?
    If a game is under three moves it can be deleted from the 'My Games' page by clicking the bin icon. If a game is three moves or over, it can not be removed, but can be archived.
  4. 09 Sep '06 02:29
    Originally posted by Ice Cold
    That isn't the way I interpret this from FAQ.
    How do I delete a game?
    If a game is under three moves it can be deleted from the 'My Games' page by clicking the bin icon. If a game is three moves or over, it can not be removed, but can be archived.
    I agree - I thought the option to delete disappeared after blacks 2nd move.
  5. Standard member IM4Y2NV
    Dadohalic
    09 Sep '06 02:55
    Originally posted by Dr Strangelove
    I agree - I thought the option to delete disappeared after blacks 2nd move.
    I have a game on its first move so I can tell you all soon enough.
  6. Standard member IM4Y2NV
    Dadohalic
    09 Sep '06 14:35
    I forgot to check after moves 2 and 3 someone else will have to answer.
  7. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    09 Sep '06 18:27
    Originally posted by Ice Cold
    That isn't the way I interpret this from FAQ.
    How do I delete a game?
    If a game is under three moves it can be deleted from the 'My Games' page by clicking the bin icon. If a game is three moves or over, it can not be removed, but can be archived.
    Heres what it says in the FAQ under What if my opponent stops playing?? Occasionally this does happen. If it is within three moves (remember moves are counted in pairs) you can simply delete the game. You will not be able to claim the win as the game is too immature.
    I may be wrong, but it clearly says moves are counted in pairs, so I interpreted it as after blacks third move. But like I said I may be wrong.
  8. Donation mwmiller
    RHP Member No. 16
    09 Sep '06 22:52
    When black completes their second move, the 'delete' option goes away.
  9. 09 Sep '06 22:57 / 2 edits
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    Heres what it says in the FAQ under [b] What if my opponent stops playing?? Occasionally this does happen. If it is within three moves (remember moves are counted in pairs) you can simply delete the game. You will not be able to claim the win as the game is too immature.
    I may be wrong, but it clearly says moves are counted in pairs, so I interpreted it as after blacks third move. But like I said I may be wrong.[/b]
    I am glad you are not a cop or a lawyer.
    Within 3 moves does not include the third set of moves.Moves are made in pairs was put in there,because many beginners think that the first move is white...the second move is black,which is not the way moves are numbered.
    The" What if my opponent stops playing??" question is before the FAQ answer I pasted from FAQ.
  10. 10 Sep '06 00:18
    White moves, black moves, then as soon as white moves again, the trash can disappears.
  11. 10 Sep '06 00:29
    Originally posted by jimslyp69
    White moves, black moves, then as soon as white moves again, the trash can disappears.
    Are you sure?

    I think it's;
    white moves,
    black moves,
    white moves,
    black moves,
    option to delete goes away.
  12. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    10 Sep '06 02:56
    Originally posted by Ice Cold
    I am glad you are not a cop or a lawyer.
    Within 3 moves does not include the third set of moves.Moves are made in pairs was put in there,because many beginners think that the first move is white...the second move is black,which is not the way moves are numbered.
    The"[b] What if my opponent stops playing??"
    question is before the FAQ answer I pasted from FAQ.[/b]
    well i'm glad i'm not a cop also. And if I was a lawyer I would argue that any game is under three moves until black has made its third move. In any game you are within three moves until black has completed its third move as it is stated in the FAQ. One white move and one black move= one full move according to the FAQ. SOOOO until black has made its third move in any game you are within, or under three moves. If white has made three moves, but black only two, then only 2 1/2 moves have been made according to the FAQ. And you still are under, or within three moves. And like I said in the past post, I might be wrong, but thats the way I interpreted it as I read it. so
  13. 11 Sep '06 02:02 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    well i'm glad i'm not a cop also. And if I was a lawyer I would argue that any game is under three moves until black has made its third move. In any game you are within three moves until black has completed its third move as it is stated in the FAQ. One white move and one black move= one full move according to the FAQ. SOOOO until black has made its ...[text shortened]... in the past post, I might be wrong, but thats the way I interpreted it as I read it. so
    No, my firend think of it as a number line.


    1.........2.........3
    [within 3 moves]
    Once white makes his 3rd move it's like this:
    1..........2.........3...
    ........................[past 3 moves]
  14. Subscriber KingDavid403
    King David
    11 Sep '06 14:49
    Originally posted by Ice Cold
    No, my firend think of it as a number line.


    1.........2.........3
    [within 3 moves]
    Once white makes his 3rd move it's like this:
    1..........2.........3...
    ........................[past 3 moves]
    number line.
    0...white moves...1/2 full move.....black moves...1 full move ....white moves...1 1/2...black move....2...3rd white move....2 1/2 full moves, under or within 3 full moves.....black makes third move.....3 full moves. now not under or within 3 moves. It is clear that the number line you stated is the way it is on this site, and I was wrong as I said I might be. But the number line I was thinking it was also fits into the way it is stated in the FAQ. you still glad i'm not your lawyer??? lol
  15. 11 Sep '06 18:43
    Originally posted by KingDavid403
    number line.
    0...white moves...1/2 full move.....black moves...1 full move ....white moves...1 1/2...black move....2...3rd white move....2 1/2 full moves, under or within 3 full moves.....black makes third move.....3 full moves. now not under or within 3 moves. It is clear that the number line you stated is the way it is on this site, and I ...[text shortened]... also fits into the way it is stated in the FAQ. you still glad i'm not your lawyer??? lol
    You would have thought that a mod or admin would have ended this before now. Do you want to move this to the Debates Forum?