Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. Standard member ray george
    ray george
    04 Mar '15 06:44
    I WAS STUPID and my silly move allowed a stalemate, my points went from 1169 to 1141. Is this punishment for my careless move when the game was as good as won?
  2. Subscriber Ponderableonline
    chemist
    04 Mar '15 07:53
    Originally posted by ray george
    I WAS STUPID and my silly move allowed a stalemate, my points went from 1169 to 1141. Is this punishment for my careless move when the game was as good as won?
    yes.

    And you where lucky there are games in which a stalemate is a win for the defender
  3. 04 Mar '15 08:38
    Ray G,
    What game number is the one where you had a stalemate?
  4. Standard member ray george
    ray george
    04 Mar '15 08:56
    Game number 11070538
  5. Standard member ray george
    ray george
    04 Mar '15 08:56
  6. Subscriber Kewpie
    chess dummy
    04 Mar '15 09:36 / 2 edits
    Originally posted by ray george
    Game number 11070538
    Game 11070538

    Ray, if you want to know how to make a link to a game, click Reply'n'quote on this post and you will see the keystrokes you need.
  7. Donation mwmiller
    RHP Member No. 16
    04 Mar '15 11:54 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by ray george
    I WAS STUPID and my silly move allowed a stalemate, my points went from 1169 to 1141. Is this punishment for my careless move when the game was as good as won?
    A stalemate is treated exactly as a draw.

    You will see that a draw can still result in one player winning or losing rating points when there is a difference in the ratings of the players. The bigger the rating difference, the more points that will be won or lost with a draw.

    There is a chart floating around that shows the actual number of points that will be awarded based on the rating of each player.

    Click here to see chart ------> Thread 80000
  8. 04 Mar '15 12:41
    Originally posted by mwmiller
    A stalemate is treated exactly as a draw.
    Erm... that's because a stalemate is a draw, not merely like one. FIDE rule 5.2a.
  9. 04 Mar '15 12:44
    Anyway, be grateful for the draw. If your opponent had known the name "Damiano", you'd have lost pretty quickly...
  10. Subscriber venda
    Dave
    04 Mar '15 14:05
    Originally posted by mwmiller
    A stalemate is treated exactly as a draw.

    You will see that a draw can still result in one player winning or losing rating points when there is a difference in the ratings of the players. The bigger the rating difference, the more points that will be won or lost with a draw.

    There is a chart floating around that shows the actual number of points t ...[text shortened]... sed on the rating of each player.

    Click here to see chart ------> Thread 80000
    Or get the formulae out of FAQ and transpose it into a microsoft spreadsheet.
    You can then type in any rating for yourself and opponent and see the points win lose or draw for any game.
  11. Standard member ray george
    ray george
    04 Mar '15 20:59
    Originally posted by Kewpie
    Game 11070538

    Ray, if you want to know how to make a link to a game, click Reply'n'quote on this post and you will see the keystrokes you need.
    Game 11070538
  12. Standard member ray george
    ray george
    05 Mar '15 03:31
    Originally posted by Kewpie
    Game 11070538

    Ray, if you want to know how to make a link to a game, click Reply'n'quote on this post and you will see the keystrokes you need.