Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Science Forum

Science Forum

1. 24 Oct '17 02:16
    https://www.theverge.com/2017/10/18/16495548/deepmind-ai-go-alphago-zero-self-taught

"DeepMind’s Go-playing AI doesn’t need human help to beat us anymore.
    The company’s latest AlphaGo AI learned superhuman skills by playing itself over and over."

"it’s a significant win for the field of reinforcement learning — a branch of
    AI in which programs learn by obtaining rewards for reaching certain goals,
    but are offered no guidance on how to get there. This is a less mature field
    of work than supervised learning (where programs are fed labeled data
    and learn from that), but it has potentially greater rewards. After all, the
    more a machine can teach itself without human guidance, the better."

"In the case of Zero, that data is comprised of possible moves in a game of Go.
    But because Zero was not programmed to understand Go specifically, it
    could be reprogrammed to discover information in other fields: drug discovery,
    protein folding, quantum chemistry, particle physics, and material design."

"Despite its complexity, Go, like all board games, is relatively easy for
    computers to understand. The rules are finite, there’s no element of luck,
    no hidden information, and — most importantly — researchers have access
    to a perfect simulation of the game. This means an AI can run millions of
    tests and be sure it’s not missing anything. Finding other fields that meet
    these criteria limits the applicability of Zero’s intelligence."
  2. Standard member mchill
    Green Lantern
    23 Nov '17 12:17
    Originally posted by @duchess64
    https://www.theverge.com/2017/10/18/16495548/deepmind-ai-go-alphago-zero-self-taught

"DeepMind’s Go-playing AI doesn’t need human help to beat us anymore.
    The company’s latest AlphaGo AI learned superhuman skills by playing itself over and over."