Debates Forum

Debates Forum

1. Zugzwang
    Moves
    04 Aug '16 20:523 edits
    My source is 'New in Chess' magazine issue 2016 / 3.
    In 1994 GM Pal Benko went to watch a Kamsky-Kramnik chess game at Trump Plaza.
    There he was introduced as a 'chess grandmaster' to Donald Trump.
    Donald Trump replied by saying:

"If I studied chess for a year or two, I would become a grandmaster."
    --Donald Trump (1994, as heard by GM Pal Benko)

GM Pal Benko told Donald Trump that he was being too optimistic (to put it mildly).
    In fact, there's no known case of anyone becoming a GM within two years of beginning chess.
    And there's no known case of anyone beginning chess at age 48 or later
    (Trump was born in 1946) and becoming a GM.

Why would Donald Trump say that? Reportedly, he has compared business
    strategy to chess strategy. Given that he considers himself a genius in business,
    Donald Trump apparently assumed it would be an easy transition to genius in chess.
    Donald Trump could afford to hire the best chess trainers in the world, but no
    honest trainer would promise that he could become a GM after only two years.

So is Donald Trump (potentially) the greatest chess genius in history?
    Or do Donald Trump's delusions of grandeur extend to chess as well?

How many of Donald Trump's ardent admirers here would like to bet
    that, after two years of study, Donald Trump could become a GM?
    My speculation is that if Donald Trump bribes FIDE President Ilyumzhinov
    enough, he might be awarded a GM title, but he would not be of GM strength.

P.S. How much the people who 'thumbed down' this post like to bet that their hero,
    Donald Trump, could become a GM (legitimately) within two years of beginning chess?
    Or ever?
  2. Standard membervivify
    rain
    Moves
    04 Aug '16 21:122 edits