1. Joined
    26 Nov '03
    Moves
    29 Dec '04 14:53
    Can anyone help (afraid I am a bit of a tech dinosor). My desktop pc is quite old now (about 6 years) and it's time to upgrade. I have been lead to believe that laptops these days are almost as good as desktops, so as occassionally I find myself going away for weekends etc I thought why not get a lpatop with remote internet access (3g datacard). Apparantly the monthly cost depends upon the amount of MB you download. Does anyone know how much data is being used to access this site and play? furthermore is it a one-off access data download or does it mount up by either/and accessing different pages and length of time on a particular page?
  2. Joined
    10 Feb '03
    Moves
    29 Dec '04 15:45
    The site admins can give you better measurements, but overall, this site is very light when it comes to data downloads: about the biggest things are the forum avatars or player profile pictures. In terms of MB: very few if any.

On the subject of laptop vs. desktop, I think it has now become a question of what do you want to do: laptops are good enough for almost anyone who uses a PC: very few need the full power of a desktop. But desktops are much cheeper. There is also the small issue that desktops are easier to upgrade: again, if you are not a 'power user', you will find that by the time you feel like upgrading, the tech will have moved so far that it has become cheeper to buy the whole thing again.

So if you can afford one: go for the laptop. They take up less room in the house too. Or a silent PC media centre if your a gadget boy like me! 🙂
  3. Joined
    26 Nov '03
    Moves
    29 Dec '04 17:00
    Originally posted by Toe
    The site admins can give you better measurements, but overall, this site is very light when it comes to data downloads: about the biggest things are the forum avatars or player profile pictures. In terms of MB: very few if any.