Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. Standard member Exy
    Damn fine Clan!
    22 Apr '04 21:08
    I was taught that you coudln't castle once you've been checked. I am sure this is the case but for some reason RHP doesn't work that way. Did I dream this rule or what?
  2. Donation !~TONY~!
    1...c5!
    22 Apr '04 21:25
    You prolly have it half right. If you MOVE YOUR KING out of check then it's no good. But if you block it with a piece or capture it, then you can still castle. You can't however castle OUT of check, so you must move your king(no castling), block it, or capture the checking piece. An example, for instance is if let's say you check your opponent with a bishop and he blocks with a pawn and you of course move the bishop back. Now he may castle. 😀
  3. 22 Apr '04 21:26
    Originally posted by Exy
    I was taught that you coudln't castle once you've been checked. I am sure this is the case but for some reason RHP doesn't work that way. Did I dream this rule or what?
    That is not correct. You can castle provided that

    1. neither your king nor the relevant rook has moved during the game
    2. your king is not in check
    3. your king will not be in check after you have castled
    4. when castling your king does not cross a square that is attacked

    🙂
  4. Standard member Exy
    Damn fine Clan!
    22 Apr '04 21:34
    Thanks for that - I'm going to change my opening gambit in future!
  5. Subscriber Russ
    RHP Code Monkey
    22 Apr '04 22:45
    http://www.redhotpawn.com/help/index.php?help=castling

    -Russ