Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. 14 Feb '05 01:10
    I am playing a game in which I'm sure my opponent made an illegal move.

    In short he has moved a pawn diagonally into an empty square (I did not have a piece in it). At the same time my pawn which was side by side to his pawn has been removed from the board as if it was taken. I'm no expert but isn't this illegal?

    Public game is CougarT vs golden618. See move 17w - gxf6 for reference.

    Whats the consensus on this one?

    Regards,
    CougarT
  2. Donation mwmiller
    RHP Member No.16
    14 Feb '05 01:20
    http://www.timeforchess.com/help/index.php?help=enpassant
  3. Standard member Freddie2008
    9 Edits
    14 Feb '05 01:31
    Originally posted by cougarT
    I am playing a game in which I'm sure my opponent made an illegal move.

    In short he has moved a pawn diagonally into an empty square (I did not have a piece in it). At the same time my pawn which was side by side to his pawn has been removed from the board as if it was taken. I'm no expert but isn't this illegal?

    Public game is CougarT vs golden618. See move 17w - gxf6 for reference.

    Whats the consensus on this one?

    Regards,
    CougarT
    the move is called en passent...and can be played when a pawn is moved two squared forward next to an opposing pawn. the opposing pawn can then move into the sqaure one behind the first pawn moved and take that pawn.

    fred
  4. 14 Feb '05 12:48
    Originally posted by cougarT
    I am playing a game in which I'm sure my opponent made an illegal move.

    In short he has moved a pawn diagonally into an empty square (I did not have a piece in it). At the same time my pawn which was side by side to his pawn has been removed from the board as if it was taken. I'm no expert but isn't this illegal?

    Public game is CougarT vs golden618. See move 17w - gxf6 for reference.

    Whats the consensus on this one?

    Regards,
    CougarT
    cougar, look at mwmiller's post...it will set you straight.

    BLR
  5. 17 Feb '05 16:00
    It used to be illegal for a pawn to start by going to squares at once. So when they introduced that move, the pawn that would be guarding the square the pawn would otherwise move to, felt a bit cheated..that's why they introduced the 'en passant' (in passing) rule at the same time.