Originally posted by Ggreg I moved my pawn to h5. When I went back to the game my pawn that I moved to h5 was gone and my opponent pawn had moved to h6. Have not made a move since then.
In checking your game history and playing through the last couple of moves it looks like everything is correct.
You moved your pawn from h7 to h5, and your opponent legally captured that pawn "en passant", which leaves his pawn on h6. Nothing there is inaccurate or incorrect. You should review the "en passant" rule.
We don't usually discuss a game that is still in progress but I don't think my comments above violate that principle in any major way. My comment has no bearing on what has already taken place in this game other than to describe the last moves and also does not offer any comments or suggestions on any future moves by either player.
The en passant capture rule was added in the 15th century when the rule that gave pawns an initial double-step move was introduced. It prevents a pawn from using the two-square advance to pass an adjacent enemy pawn without the risk of being captured.