Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Help Forum

Help Forum

  1. Subscriber turtlex
    Picard Is My Captain
    16 Mar '04 13:06
    http://www.redhotpawn.com/core/playchess.php?gameid=433229

    Russ - I might be missing something (it happens more often than not) but shouldn't the game above be a CheckMate for my opponent?

    Regards, turtlex
  2. Standard member tejo
    a unique loser
    16 Mar '04 13:15
    you can take his pawn because of the "en passent" rule. The correct way to do this is to move b4-c3. If you don't know the en passent rule, check out the FAQ of the help on the site
  3. Subscriber Russ
    RHP Code Monkey
    16 Mar '04 13:16 / 1 edit
    Well spotted - that had me scratching my head for sometime too.

    -Russ
  4. Subscriber turtlex
    Picard Is My Captain
    16 Mar '04 13:24
    Thats a new one for me. Thanks very much. I'll check the FAQ for more information.
  5. Standard member thire
    Xebite
    16 Mar '04 13:51
    Originally posted by turtlex
    http://www.redhotpawn.com/core/playchess.php?gameid=433229
    ...
    just to let people (including me) see what you mean... Game 433229
    use the "Link to a game" under the smilies!
    th
  6. Standard member skeeter
    515 + 30 days
    16 Mar '04 19:41 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by turtlex
    Thats a new one for me. Thanks very much. I'll check the FAQ for more information.
    You actually missed it. 21. Qf7 mates.

    skeeter
  7. 16 Mar '04 19:44
    Can you please tell me? If I am reduced to just my king left, how many moves are allowed without a checkmate before the game is declared over? And is it a draw? Many thanks
  8. Subscriber Russ
    RHP Code Monkey
    16 Mar '04 20:15
    Once I finish testing some new code (tomorrow) I will be releasing an 'insufficient material' check. This will allow a draw to be claimed if only 2 kings remain.

    -Russ