1. Joined
    06 Apr '08
    Moves
    03 Oct '13 12:50
    Hi, I'm a designer and in the process of producing a new chess set. What I'd like to know is which is the most popular style of piece for online players? - mine is 'Book'.
  2. SubscriberRuss
    RHP Code Monkey
    RHP HQ
    Moves
    03 Oct '13 13:103 edits
  3. SubscriberKewpie
    since 1-Feb-07
    Australia
    Moves
    03 Oct '13 13:17
    Alpha is better than Book for people with vision problems. I've played quite a lot with both.
  4. SubscriberC J Horse
    A stable personality
    Near my hay.
    Moves
    03 Oct '13 14:46
    I use Book, purely because it's the style I have been used to seeing in print all my life and I recognise all the pieces automatically. I feel sure that if I used one of the more obscure sets (however pretty) it would interfere greatly with my thinking.
  5. Standard memberRevRSleeker
    CerebrallyChallenged
    Lyme BayChesil Beach
    Moves
    03 Oct '13 21:03

This post is unavailable.

Please refer to our posting guidelines.

6. Standard memberRevRSleeker
    CerebrallyChallenged
    Lyme BayChesil Beach
    Moves
    03 Oct '13 21:07
    Originally posted by Campaigner
    Hi, I'm a designer and in the process of producing a new chess set. What I'd like to know is which is the most popular style of piece for online players? - mine is 'Book'.
    After a few years utilising 'Book' ( which I think is the default setting anyway ? ), I changed briefly to 'Alpha'...but I've been more than content with my use of 'Merida', and have been so for a couple of years now...

It would be great if you could share with us some of your designs, hopefully in the near future 🙂
  7. Dublin Ireland
    Moves
    03 Oct '13 22:02
    Originally posted by RevRSleeker
    After a few years utilising 'Book' ( which I think is the default setting anyway ? ), I changed briefly to 'Alpha'...but I've been more than content with my use of 'Merida', and have been so for a couple of years now...