1. Standard memberMarinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    tbc
    Moves
    12 Jan '14 19:152 edits
    I've recently started playing this opening with black and i have to say, i think i'm in love. I've been playing a sort of Pirc/Philidor hybrid opening for about 10 years now, but it just isn't sound enough.

Anyway, why am i posting this? I am keen to see any topical game in this opening (any variation is fine). Do any of you play this opening? Any tips or study suggestions gratefully received. 🙂

Here's a nice game i played the other day. I think i misplayed the opening slightly (Nd5-f4 looks dubious now that i look over it) but it's quite a nice strategic win which is the sort of style i'd like to play in more often...

2. Joined
    06 Oct '02
    Moves
    12 Jan '14 23:25
    I don't know who this Alekhine fellow is but he better learn to develop his pieces quickly in the opening.
  3. Joined
    06 Oct '02
    Moves
    12 Jan '14 23:32
    Serious post, what about 17... c5?
  4. Standard memberMarinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    tbc
    Moves
    12 Jan '14 23:52
    Originally posted by mcreynolds
    Serious post, what about 17... c5?
    Well i think that opening the position before i've castled is somewhat dangerous. I did consider it, but rejected it on that basis. It would also leave a hole on d6 which could possibly end up providing a rather nice home for a knight. I didn't like the idea of being forced to trade off my dark squared bishop should a knight make it there.

I did intend to play c5 at some point though. I played my rook to c8 in preparation for that eventuality but the game took other avenues. My opponent was running short of time towards the end and went in for a dubious attack (Rh7 is just a blunder, i can't see how anything can be forced). I think, given more time they might have abandoned the whole h-file idea and focused on meeting the threat of ..c5 and the subsequent pawn advances.. 🙂
  5. SubscriberPaul Leggett
    Chess Librarian