1. Inside my mind
    Moves
    28 Apr '07 01:54
    I am fairly new to CC and wondered if there is any software I can download for free to analyse where I went wrong in games?

One game in particular Game 3447364 my opponent brought their Queen out on move ten? I have always been told that you should never bring your Queen out this early?

I have to say it proved very effective as I had no clue how to defend against this attack and subsequently lost the game shortly afterwards.

Just wondering if I can use some program to help me realise the 'error of my ways'?
  2. Joined
    18 Aug '06
    Moves
    28 Apr '07 02:04
    try here and look under the links section at the free software

http://chessforblood.blogspot.com/
  3. Joined
    19 Jun '06
    Moves
    28 Apr '07 02:261 edit
    In addition to the database software mentioned in the Chessforblood link in the previous post, if you just want a nice but straightforward free GUI and engine, the Arena GUI is good. You can stick with the stable Version 1.1 or get adventurous with the newer beta versions. Go to the Arena Downloads area. The Arena 1.1 Setup 1 package comes with the SOS 5.1 engine, which is just fine for analysis.

http://www.playwitharena.com/

And if you want to try more engines, there are plenty of free Winboard and UCI engines at various sites. A couple of good sites are -

http://wbec-ridderkerk.nl/index.html

http://www.superchessengine.com/
  4. Joined
    03 Jan '07
    Moves
    28 Apr '07 03:14
    Originally posted by sangfroid
    I am fairly new to CC and wondered if there is any software I can download for free to analyse where I went wrong in games?

One game in particular Game 3447364 my opponent brought their Queen out on move ten? I have always been told that you should never bring your Queen out this early?

I have to say it proved very effective as I had no clue ho ...[text shortened]... rwards.

Just wondering if I can use some program to help me realise the 'error of my ways'?