Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 13 Apr '12 02:02
    redhotpawn just allowed a king-side castle after the king was previously in check. Isn't it true that castling can not occur if (1) the king or rook has previously moved, (2) if the king has previously been in check or (3) if castling will make the king cross trough check?
  2. 13 Apr '12 02:07
    Originally posted by Horsie
    redhotpawn just allowed a king-side castle after the king was previously in check. Isn't it true that castling can not occur if (1) the king or rook has previously moved, (2) if the king has previously been in check or (3) if castling will make the king cross trough check?
    1 and 3 are true.
  3. Standard member Patanjali
    Grand Poobah
    13 Apr '12 12:06
    As long as the king wasn't moved to get out of check, castling can still occurr.
  4. 13 Apr '12 21:26
    That's ok, I didn't know that a king could not take a pawn enpassant until I tried it on FICS.
  5. 13 Apr '12 23:46 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Horsie
    redhotpawn just allowed a king-side castle after the king was previously in check. Isn't it true that castling can not occur if (1) the king or rook has previously moved, (2) if the king has previously been in check or (3) if castling will make the king cross trough check?
    The third missing rule is that you cannot castle out of check. Hope this helps.
  6. Standard member ChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    14 Apr '12 00:49
    Originally posted by Horsie
    redhotpawn just allowed a king-side castle after the king was previously in check. Isn't it true that castling can not occur if (1) the king or rook has previously moved, (2) if the king has previously been in check or (3) if castling will make the king cross trough check?
  7. 14 Apr '12 11:28
    Originally posted by Horsie
    redhotpawn just allowed a king-side castle after the king was previously in check. Isn't it true that castling can not occur if (1) the king or rook has previously moved, (2) if the king has previously been in check or (3) if castling will make the king cross trough check?
    Sounds fictitious especially since I went through all your games looking for that scenario and there was no evidence of this.
  8. 14 Apr '12 13:47
    Originally posted by enrico20
    Sounds fictitious especially since I went through all your games looking for that scenario and there was no evidence of this.
    He didn't say it was one of his games.
  9. 14 Apr '12 16:23
    Originally posted by michael liddle
    He didn't say it was one of his games.
    redhotpawn just allowed a king-side castle after the king was previously in check.


    No he didn't. But its a moot point. The poster obviously does not fully understand the rules of Chess.

    This may help him.

    Castling is a special defensive maneuver. It is the only time in the game when more than one piece may be moved during a turn. This move was invented in the 1500s to help speed up the game and to help balance the offense and defense.

    The castling move has some fairly rigid restrictions:

    1.It can only occur if there are no pieces standing between the king and the rook.

    2.Neither king nor the rook to be castled with may have moved from its original position. (The other rook may have already moved).

    3.There can be no opposing piece that could possibly capture the king in his original square, the square he moves through or the square that he ends the turn.


    http://www.learnchessrules.com/castling.htm


    Another good site explaining the rule clearly w/diagrams is http://www.kidchess.com/instruction/castling.htm