1. Garner, NC
    Moves
    20 Feb '07 16:04
    Are chess problems (e.g. mate in two puzzles) copy-right-able?
  2. Standard memberonyx2006
    onyx2007
    watching you...
    Moves
    20 Feb '07 16:11
    good question, I haven't a clue, but if you were to stick in a useless pawn somewhere...
    who's to say?
  3. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves
    20 Feb '07 16:46
    Originally posted by techsouth
    Steve Lopez discussed this issue in his ChessBase workshop several weeks ago. You might take a look through their archives.
  4. Joined
    26 May '02
    Moves
    20 Feb '07 16:481 edit
    If your intention is just to post them here, I don't think there would be any problem.

However if you took someone's puzzles and published them in a book or otherwise tried to sell them, then I assume that would be a breach of copyright. Although I'm not a lawyer.
  5. Standard memberBigDogg
    Secret RHP coder
    on the payroll
    Moves
    20 Feb '07 17:11
    No, although it's convention to always include the composer's name (if it is known) with the problem, to give proper credit.
  6. Joined
    21 Feb '06
    Moves
    20 Feb '07 17:34
    I somewhat doubt that a single chess puzzle is copy-rightable.

though, anotation, i should imagine is.

....but maybe its possible to copyright a collection of puzzles....
  7. Standard memberWulebgr
    Angler
    River City
    Moves
    20 Feb '07 17:36
    Originally posted by Shinidoki
    I somewhat doubt that a single chess puzzle is copy-rightable.

though, anotation, i should imagine is.

....but maybe its possible to copyright a collection of puzzles....
    Composed problems have stronger copyright protection (or should) than annotations. Nevertheless, if they are more than 75 years old, the protection has almost certainly expired.

(I am not a lawyer.)
  8. Joined
    02 Dec '06
    Moves
    20 Feb '07 18:05