1. Joined
    29 Oct '09
    Moves
    07 Feb '13 02:46

Despite the mistakes, I still managed to put my pieces around the white king. Was there something I missed there?
  2. Standard memberChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    American West
    Moves
    07 Feb '13 03:07
    I'm no expert, so take this with a grain of salt. 🙂
    I don't care for your second move, in short, it invites a hole either on d3 or d4. Holes are usually a great place for an opponent's outpost. Black had faster development, your king side sleeps. I'd develop before launching an assault, unless there is a trap or trick line involved.
  3. Joined
    29 Oct '09
    Moves
    07 Feb '13 03:12
    Oh, I was black! 🙂
  4. Standard memberChessPraxis
    Cowboy From Hell
    American West
    Moves
    07 Feb '13 03:22
    Originally posted by WanderingKing
    Oh, I was black! 🙂
    My mistake... 😞
    Spit out the 1 grain of salt. 🙁
  5. Joined
    15 Jun '06
    Moves
    07 Feb '13 03:35
    [pgn]
    1.e4 e5
    2.c4 Nf6
    3.Nc3 Bc5
    4.h3 O-O
    5.Qf3 b6 {this seemed like a good idea at the time. That bishop on b7 was supposed to be strong...}
    6.d3 Bb7
    7.Qg3 Nc6
    8.Bh6 Nh5 {I forgot that I need my bishop on c8 for this to work.}
    9.Qg4 g6
    10.Bxf8 Kxf8
    11.Be2 Nd4
    12.Bd1 Nf4
    13.Nf3 f5 {A desperate attempt to bring the b7 bishop into action.}
    ...[text shortened]... es, I still managed to put my pieces around the white king. Was there something I missed there?
    I don't know but 14...Nxd3+ looks pretty good.
  6. Standard memberDeepThought
    Losing the Thread
    Quarantined World
    Moves
    07 Feb '13 03:42
    8. ... Ne8 avoids losing the exchange. Your king is a little exposed at the end, but you are not short of material. The exchange is about quality not quantity, since there aren't any open files yet it isn't one that matters. You shouldn't resign that position.
  7. Joined
    29 Oct '09
    Moves
    07 Feb '13 03:511 edit