Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 22 May '07 15:54
    Could someone please help me understand the difference?

    Do they both count the same in a tournament?
  2. Standard member Korch
    Chess Warrior
    22 May '07 15:58
    Originally posted by Savate
    Do they both count the same in a tournament?
    Yes.
  3. 22 May '07 16:02
    Both draws and stalemates give each player 1/2 point. There are a number of ways a draw can happen. (By agreement, insufficient material, three position repetition, 50-move rule, etc.) A stalemate is one particular type of draw, in which the player on move has no possible legal move and his king is not in check.
  4. 22 May '07 16:03 / 1 edit
    -deleted since it repeats the post above-
  5. 22 May '07 17:16
    So if you and your opponent or both down to a King and two pawns, that would be a DRAW or a STALEMATE?

    I'm just trying to learn how to identify the difference...
  6. 22 May '07 17:29
    Originally posted by Savate
    So if you and your opponent or both down to a King and two pawns, that would be a DRAW or a STALEMATE?

    I'm just trying to learn how to identify the difference...
    No, it wouldn't. If you and your opponent are both down to a king and two pawns, but one of his is about to promote and yours are not, it's very probably not a draw but a win for him. If you are both down to a king and two pawns, but he blunders, you may be able to win. If you're both down to a king and two pawns, and you both play reasonably well, then it will be a draw.
    You can reach this draw in two ways. You can either muddle on, occasionally shoving pawns forward or exchanging them as it happens, until you reach a situation where you have either only the two kings left, or you have made 50 moves without either of you moving or taking a pawn; or you can decide to end it there and then and make it a draw by agreement. I advise the latter way of action, since it saves a lot of needless woodpushing; but do note that it is up to you both to agree to this draw. King plus two pawns on both sides is not an automatic draw.

    A stalemate, OTOH, is an automatic draw, but it's a specific kind of draw. It is reached when one player must move, but cannot make a legal move, yet is not in check right now. It is probably possible in theory to achieve stalemate with a king and two pawns each, but usually it would be rather hard to do so without active assistance from your opponent.

    You want to read http://www.fide.com/official/handbook.asp?level=EE101 , in particularly section 5.2; and note point a. in that section.

    Richard