Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. Standard member led
    05 Dec '05 20:57
    I was wondering how many moves without a capture must be made before a draw can be claimed. I read 50. Once this happens, must a draw be claimed? Can it be denied? Does RHP do the draw automatically or do I have to claim?

    Thanks.
  2. Standard member Aiko
    Nearing 200000...!
    05 Dec '05 20:58
    I believe only repetition of moves is done automatically. All other drawish situations need to be claimed a draw (or offered and accepted).
  3. Standard member led
    05 Dec '05 20:59
    Thanks.
  4. 05 Dec '05 21:04
    Originally posted by led
    I was wondering how many moves without a capture must be made before a draw can be claimed. I read 50. Once this happens, must a draw be claimed? Can it be denied? Does RHP do the draw automatically or do I have to claim?

    Thanks.
    50 moves without a capture or a pawn move, and you are given the option for a draw.
  5. Standard member led
    05 Dec '05 21:14
    Right, right. I knew it was without capture or pawn move. My main question was whether it was automatic or not.
  6. 06 Dec '05 02:41
    Originally posted by Aiko
    I believe only repetition of moves is done automatically. All other drawish situations need to be claimed a draw (or offered and accepted).
    it's not automatic
  7. Standard member XanthosNZ
    Cancerous Bus Crash
    06 Dec '05 03:09
    Originally posted by Aiko
    I believe only repetition of moves is done automatically. All other drawish situations need to be claimed a draw (or offered and accepted).
    No draw other than stalemate is automatic. Both draw by repetition and under the 50 move rule must be claimed (on the move they occur).
  8. Standard member Aiko
    Nearing 200000...!
    06 Dec '05 17:25
    Originally posted by XanthosNZ
    No draw other than stalemate is automatic. Both draw by repetition and under the 50 move rule must be claimed (on the move they occur).
    That's strange then. I have played at least two matches in the last few months drawing against an opponent right after I had offered a draw to my opponent, which got declined and the game ended in an draw due to repitition (as the main board indicated). I thought my opponents thought there was more in it for them so they decided to continue, but caused a draw by repitition after all. Strange...