1. Subscriber64squaresofpain
    The drunk knight
    Stuck on g1
    Moves
    17 Oct '13 23:15
    Greetings players and fellow patzers.

This was one of those games where I had wished I'd done better,
    but sadly the inevitable thing happened and I eventually caved in...
    possibly to my opponent's expectation of me making a mistake.

...Which is a pretty reasonable expectation, to be fair.

I'm white

If there's any additional input that any of y'all nice people could contribute
    I'd be awful grateful 🙂
  2. Houston, Texas
    Moves
    18 Oct '13 00:544 edits
    I think maybe you win with 37.Qh1.

Only first glances here and only for discussion. I am no expert, that’s for sure.

1. Not sure about 4. b4 as you even indicate. I was thinking instead to develop a piece or maybe 4. h3 to stop the pin. But you did ultimately use the b4 pawn.

2. I understand your tempo thought, but I don’t think you had to do 21.NxN. Maybe instead do the 21. Qb1 you had considered earlier and focus on queenside.

Also maybe 21.Nc4 a decent post for your N and leaving his N in a remote awkward square. If he pawn forked 21 . . . b5, you then go 22. Ne3 with some additional potential activity on the king side which appears to be what you want to do.

3. I just do not know about the late middle game as the trades went toward the draw. It seemed to work out slightly well for him. Not sure if you could have prevented him from grabbing the a-file. Also in hindsight, if you could waited on pushing your h-pawn to h4 and instead focus on shoring up your queen side. But see #4 below.

4. As you indicate, 37.Qh1 would have been interesting. The more I look at it, I think you would have won. And nicely, you use the h-file and grab it. I am not sure what he would have done in reply to 37.Qh1.
  3. Subscriber64squaresofpain
    The drunk knight
    Stuck on g1
    Moves
    18 Oct '13 02:04
    Originally posted by moon1969
    I think maybe you win with 37.Qh1.