Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 29 Nov '06 05:00
    I guess I don't know the exact rules.

    In a current game, I am Black and moved my pawn across the board and up to g3. The white player moved his H pawn to h4, jumping two spaces. Shouldn't I be able to take that H pawn en passant with my g pawn (moving it to h2)? The Board is not allowing me to make the move, and my understanding of the rule is that I should be able to

    Since this is an ongoing game, please realize I am not looking for move help. Just clarification on something that I don't understand.
  2. 29 Nov '06 05:09
    if your pawn was on g4 you would be able to. you have to be on your opponents 4th rank and if they move a pawn on an adjacent column 2 ranks then you can capture.
  3. 29 Nov '06 05:17
    Never knew I had to be on the 4th rank, always thought it was opponents 3rd or 4th. Thanks for the info
  4. 29 Nov '06 09:03
    Originally posted by meyekal
    Never knew I had to be on the 4th rank, always thought it was opponents 3rd or 4th. Thanks for the info
    Try to think of it this way - you can take en passant if you would have been able to take normally if your opponent's pawn had only moved one square.