First Win on RHP!

First Win on RHP!

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PoC

Moves
02 Feb 13
3 edits

I was rather proud of my closing. I play black.

Game 9804507

Please add comments as there are some interesting lines that could have been. I'm new to any form of annotating. Criticism of my play too please! I'd love to learn.

Trent

W

Moves
02 Feb 13
2 edits

Congratulations! Well done and thanks for the annotations.

I wonder why you played 4...c6. What was the purpose of this move? I suppose it was to defend d4, but wouldn't it be better to wait with it until white plays c4?

The Near Genius

Fort Gordon

Moves
03 Feb 13

Originally posted by WanderingKing

I wonder why you played 4...c6. What was the purpose of this move? I suppose it was to defend d4, but wouldn't it be better to wait with it until white plays c4?
He said that he was playing his defensive opening system to this Queen Pawn Opening with out much regard to what White did up to a point. So it appears that he had in mind the Slav Defense, so the move 4...c6 fits right in there, because it not only supports d4, which e6 is unable to do at this point, but it also opens up more squares for the Black Queen.

I see no reason for him to wait for White to play c4, because it is not clear as to when White plans to play it, if at all, in the opening. About the only other move that Black might play that makes any sense, if he wanted to wait before committing the c-pawn is the developing move 4...Nbd7.

t

Moves
03 Feb 13
4 edits

Originally posted by Phantom of Chess

Game 9804507

[pgn][Event "Open invite"] [Site "http://www.redhotpawn.com"] [Date "2013.01.25"] [EndDate "2013.02.02"] [Round "?"] [White "oldtimesinger"] [Black "Phantom of Chess"] [WhiteRating "1054"] [BlackRating "1459"] [WhiteElo "1054"] [BlackElo "1459"] [Result "0-1"] [GameId "980450 icism of my play too please! I'd love to learn.