1. Joined
    20 Sep '06
    Moves
    24 Sep '06 01:351 edit
    Anyone know of places I can read, and see examples so I can help increse my level of play, which since I started playing 4-5 days ago isnt very high. Also if anyone wantsa game message me, im always up for a game, cause weather I win or lose maybe I can learn something from it. Thanks for all the help.
  2. Edmonton, Alberta
    Moves
    24 Sep '06 04:54
    Originally posted by whiplash08
    Anyone know of places I can read, and see examples so I can help increse my level of play, which since I started playing 4-5 days ago isnt very high. Also if anyone wantsa game message me, im always up for a game, cause weather I win or lose maybe I can learn something from it. Thanks for all the help.
    Read my need help getting to 1400 thread. It in the chess forum several pages back.

Read page 2 of that thread, lots of good sites on there.
  3. Joined
    14 Jul '06
    Moves
    24 Sep '06 05:28
    Just a few really basic pointers after looking at some of your games...

1)Try 1e4 or 1d4 instead of 1e3 or 1d3
    This opens up lines for your pieces whilst also staking claim to part of the 4 central squares & the central squares d4,e4,d5 & e5 are extremely important in the opening & middlegame.

2)Develop your knights to f3 & c3 early, then mobilise your bishops to squares like c4 or b5 & f4 & g5 if possible.

3)Don't move a pawn more than once in the first few moves. Doing this loses a "tempo" & effectively gives your initiative away.

4)Castle early as this helps link you rooks on the back rank & moves your king away from the centre where it can be vulnerable.

5)Always watch for possible knight moves by your opponent. These are often overlooked when you first start playing, especially a knight fork against your King & Rook.