1. Joined
    29 Apr '09
    Moves
    30 Apr '09 13:25
    I'm just a beginner at chess, and this was my first game.
    Game 6266311

I think it went too long and that I just got really lucky with that win. Was there anything I could've done better? Thanks.
  2. Joined
    12 Jul '08
    Moves
    30 Apr '09 13:42
    Hold on to your pieces. You gave away your knight around move 10. You should have moved it, but you didn't and he took it with a pawn.
  3. Joined
    30 Mar '09
    Moves
    30 Apr '09 14:241 edit
    Originally posted by ThatZeroGuy
    Game 6266311

I think it went too long and that I just got really lucky with that win. Was there anything I could've done better? Thanks.
    This was your very first game of chess ever?I'm impressed!

To improve study tactics,learn the opening principles and try to apply them.
  4. e4
    Moves
    30 Apr '09 14:52
    Hi

Good first time effort.
    Yes you are leaving pieces unprotected and missing that they can be taken.

Keep playing the game and through time and experience this bad
    habit will disappear.

It won't take too many games and you will suffer a few bad losses.
    This is part of the learning process.

Look at each pieces before you move, is anything attacking it?
    Look at the square before you move the piece to it. Is it protected?

Here are a few tips.

One aspect you must become good at it is visulistaion.

You must, and this will develop through time and play,
    be able to see what will happen on the board after a series of 'forced moves.'

'Forced moves'
    These are good. You make a move and you know how your opponent
    is going to reply so you can then plan ahead what to do next.

Hopefully this will be something nasty for your opponent.

You can force your opponent's pieces onto squares that make things good for you.

An opponent's piece may be guarding another piece or an important square.
    If you can lure that piece away from it's guard duty with a forced move,