1. Joined
    25 Feb '10
    Moves
    13 Mar '10 01:06
    so ive been playing my sister, and recently she has decided to move all her pawns in a "V" formation. and i cant really advance further without having to lose some pieces(not always pawns). and now she always uses this strategy
    i just started playing chess about 3 weeks ago so im pretty much a beginner.
    i have not really found a way to counter this without losing vital pieces.

so can someone who is more experienced give me some tips on how to counter this?
    i made a crappy mspaint picture for you to see what im talking about.

http://i339.photobucket.com/albums/n468/konvikt420/chessboardV.jpg
    she basically gets her Pawns in that position. (P=pawn) it doesnt matter what color she is either, she will do this strategy.

any help would be appreciated.
  2. Joined
    26 Jun '06
    Moves
    13 Mar '10 01:16
    Originally posted by konvikt19
    so ive been playing my sister, and recently she has decided to move all her pawns in a "V" formation. and i cant really advance further without having to lose some pieces(not always pawns). and now she always uses this strategy
    i have not really found a way to counter this witho ...[text shortened]... matter what color she is either, she will do this strategy.

this might be the worst system someone could play. I would just take the center, make moves like e4,d4,nf3,Bc4.. there is going to be some gaping holes in their camp.
  3. Standard memberwolfgang59
    Quiz Master
    RHP Arms
    Moves
    13 Mar '10 01:28
    i have not really found a way to counter this witho ...[text shortened]... matter what color she is either, she will do this strategy.

While she wastes 8 moves develop your pieces and castle.

Put your kings bishop in front of your king then at opportune moment play to rook5 and check.

swap pawns to leave her with more pawn chains than you (better still isolated or doubled pawns)
  4. Standard memberrandolph
    the walrus