Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. 23 Jun '07 00:50
    i played a game (not virtual) recently and was black... at the start of the game my opponent said i must move first.... i explained to him as white he must and he said he doesnt, as white he can choose to let black go first... i can't find this in the rules anywhere, can someone tell me if this is allowed?

    just for the record, i did move first and i beat him, so maybe he wont be doing that again anyway!
  2. Standard member anthias
    ambitious player
    23 Jun '07 00:53
    Originally posted by eatmybishop
    i played a game (not virtual) recently and was black... at the start of the game my opponent said i must move first.... i explained to him as white he must and he said he doesnt, as white he can choose to let black go first... i can't find this in the rules anywhere, can someone tell me if this is allowed?

    just for the record, i did move first and i beat him, so maybe he wont be doing that again anyway!
    That just brightened my day, thanks

    Anyway, your friend's wrong.
  3. Standard member irontigran
    Rob Scheider is..
    23 Jun '07 00:57
    Originally posted by anthias
    That just brightened my day, thanks

    Anyway, your friend's wrong.
    yeah, its been hundereds of years since they could choose...white always goes first now..
  4. 23 Jun '07 01:53
    hahaha. thats funny
  5. Standard member Arrakis
    D_U_N_E
    23 Jun '07 02:08 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by eatmybishop
    i played a game (not virtual) recently and was black... at the start of the game my opponent said i must move first.... i explained to him as white he must and he said he doesnt, as white he can choose to let black go first... i can't find this in the rules anywhere, can someone tell me if this is allowed?

    just for the record, i did move first and i beat him, so maybe he wont be doing that again anyway!
    That's funny, but next time I'd insist that he follow the rules. I once saw an expert castle long through check in an OTB tournament, but it didn't work out well for him cause he was getting checkmated, so he simply stopped the clock, got the TD and said, "There's been an illegal move made here".

    At that point the TD went over the game, saw the illegal move and set the board back up to the position before the illegal move had been made. Then the expert made a different move and won the game.