Please turn on javascript in your browser to play chess.
Only Chess Forum

Only Chess Forum

  1. Subscriber Marinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    29 Aug '12 15:18 / 2 edits
    Just finished this game and wondered what peoples thoughts are regarding the exchange sac? It's really hard to judge whether it was correct or not. Thoughts?

  2. Standard member RJHinds
    The Near Genius
    29 Aug '12 15:36 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Marinkatomb
    Just finished this game and wondered what peoples thoughts are regarding the exchange sac? It's really hard to judge whether it was correct or not. Thoughts?

    [pgn][Event "Siege"]
    [Site "http://www.timeforchess.com"]
    [Date "2011.11.06"]
    [EndDate "2012.08.29"]
    [Round "?"]
    [White "Marinkatomb"]
    [Black "orangutan"]
    [WhiteRating "1834"]
    [BlackRa c7 38. Ke2d3 b5 39. g4 Kc7d6 40. Kd3xd4 Kd6e7 41. Kd4c5 1-0

    [/pgn]
    The bishop does need to be removed from the strong outpost. However, I think I would first try to trade off bishops. It does appears that you got enough compensation for the exchange with the two supported pawns in the center.

    P.S. If I were going to make that trade I would have went ahead on move 19 then played b4 and Bb2 instead of waiting like you did.
  3. Standard member RJHinds
    The Near Genius
    29 Aug '12 16:19 / 3 edits
    Black missed a good chance for a win with 27...d3 followed by Rc2.

    P.S. It looks like 25.Bb2 is a mistake. A better move is 25.d6 advancing the passed pawn and attacking a rook at the same time. If he moves 25...Ra7 then 26.Bb2 may be forced, but then you have an advanced d pawn that he must deal with.
  4. 03 Sep '12 09:19 / 1 edit
    White had a slight advantage that the exchange sac giftwrapped and gave away as an early Christmas present to Black. Move 19 was a mistake that leads to an almost immediate loss but due to Black's twice missing d3 (on 26 and 27), it worked out in the end. But no, the exchange sac wasn't sound.
  5. Subscriber Marinkatomb
    wotagr8game
    03 Sep '12 11:48
    Originally posted by Phil Hill
    White had a slight advantage that the exchange sac giftwrapped and gave away as an early Christmas present to Black. Move 19 was a mistake that leads to an almost immediate loss but due to Black's twice missing d3 (on 26 and 27), it worked out in the end. But no, the exchange sac wasn't sound.
    Care to show how d3 wins?
  6. 03 Sep '12 12:10 / 1 edit
    Originally posted by Marinkatomb
    Care to show how d3 wins?
    26...d3 27.Rd2 Ra1+ 28.Bf1 Rcc1 29.d6 Rxf1+

    27...d3 28.Ke3 Rc2 29.Rb3 Rxg2 30.Rxd3 Rxh2

    The win is easier and quicker after 26...d3.

    edit - Mistake was on 20 not 19....sorry.
  7. Standard member RJHinds
    The Near Genius
    03 Sep '12 13:03
    Originally posted by Phil Hill
    White had a slight advantage that the exchange sac giftwrapped and gave away as an early Christmas present to Black. Move 19 was a mistake that leads to an almost immediate loss but due to Black's twice missing d3 (on 26 and 27), it worked out in the end. But no, the exchange sac wasn't sound.
    You must mean move 25.Bb2 is a mistake and not move 19.Rb1 which guards the b2 pawn. I already mentioned that 25.Bb2 is a mistake.
  8. 04 Sep '12 19:46
    Originally posted by Phil Hill
    26...d3 27.Rd2 Ra1+ 28.Bf1 Rcc1 29.d6 Rxf1+

    27...d3 28.Ke3 Rc2 29.Rb3 Rxg2 30.Rxd3 Rxh2

    The win is easier and quicker after 26...d3.

    edit - Mistake was on 20 not 19....sorry.
    Can't the king make for e3 instead of playing Bf1?
  9. Standard member RJHinds
    The Near Genius
    05 Sep '12 00:21 / 2 edits
    Originally posted by tomtom232
    Can't the king make for e3 instead of playing Bf1?
    Yes, that is what he did in the game. However, Black made the wrong followup move. He should have pushed the passed pawn to d3 and followed it with Rc2.