1. Joined
    21 Sep '05
    Moves
    07 Aug '08 01:38
    I'm still a novice when it comes to online chess resources. Can someone point me in the direction of some site (or free download) where I can plug in various chess positions for analysis? Thanks!
  2. Joined
    30 Aug '06
    Moves
    07 Aug '08 01:46
    Originally posted by basso
    I'm still a novice when it comes to online chess resources. Can someone point me in the direction of some site (or free download) where I can plug in various chess positions for analysis? Thanks!
    http://www.chesslive.de/
  3. Joined
    26 Jun '06
    Moves
    07 Aug '08 01:46
    oh i know what you mean.. wink wink 🙂
    i "study" with a free version of crafty i got from CTart.. i think theres also a build in one at a DB site but forget which one..
    anyway since this... learning.. ive improved 400 points, and now know all the pieces names! 😀
    -j
  4. St. Paul, Minnesota
    Moves
    07 Aug '08 02:051 edit
    I'm quite a novice as well. So far, I like Arena best for analysis and for stepping through pgns... and if I want to play against an engine, I imagine it would be my preferred. I like "ChessDB" for creating pgns from notes out of books that are in older notation such as 1. P-K4, P-K4.
  5. Joined
    21 Sep '05
    Moves
    07 Aug '08 02:07
    Originally posted by Ice Cold
    http://www.chesslive.de/
    Thanks, Ice Cold. I went to the site (chesslive.de), and it is a site to behold! But what to do?! How do I set up the pieces? How do I learn the ins and outs of using the site? Thanks a bunch.
  6. Joined
    21 Sep '05
    Moves
    07 Aug '08 02:27
    OK, now I've gone to Arena. Again, what to do? I'm not a techy. How do you guys learn to use this sort of site. I'm lost. Thanks.
  7. Joined
    21 Sep '05
    Moves
    07 Aug '08 02:51